TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:46 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Vac gauge
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 1:55 am 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
Was going to mount this in the car tonight then got to thinking wouldn't it make more sense to have it in the engine bay? Seems to me if I run into any vacuume issues I'd want to monitor them from under the hood while troubleshooting? Any major reason not to do so?

_________________
LNLC Founding Member

FAKE FRIENDS: Never ask for food.
REAL FRIENDS: Is the reason you have no food.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ...guage location
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 3:27 am 
Offline
A legend in his own mind
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 3:06 am
Posts: 3344
Location: In T-Dot-getting >35mpg in a non GTi
biggest practical purpose is for fuel economy- and you can't tell that with it in the engine bay

_________________
2017: I forgot if my memory loss is a good thing or bad thing.

LNLC Founding Member

Certified to advise if this thread is GAY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
meh...no need to watch my fuel economy for the amount of miles it gets in a year...not to mention the direction the engine is going...

_________________
LNLC Founding Member

FAKE FRIENDS: Never ask for food.
REAL FRIENDS: Is the reason you have no food.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Vac gauge
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 5:52 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Australia
m wrote:
Seems to me if I run into any vacuume issues I'd want to monitor them from under the hood while troubleshooting? Any major reason not to do so?
I have mine in the cabin - anything goes wrong (split hose..) I know about it. In the engine bay I have a T piece - one side goes to the gauge inside, one is capped and the other to the manifold. If I am looking at a problem, my test gauge is fitted to the capped point on the T piece. Air fittings for fish tank pumps are the right size.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 9:03 pm
Posts: 23
Location: oklahoma city, oklahoma
I run one on my g10 and also have it mounted in the cabin. A place that i found good to mount it was above the speaker grill up front ,on the drivers side ,on the dash, i have a 94 geo metro.It helps moniter the pressure inside the manifold to help the driver understand how much gas to give it without sacrificing precious gas mileage, oh yeah and besides it looks cool too. lol i picked mine up from my work for 10US ,crazy cheap so had to get it...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group