TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:57 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 9:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 10:01 am
Posts: 54
Location: Colorado USA
Got the MegaSquirt all installed and ready to go. This is in a racecar so no idle wiring or stock harness. I'm using a relay board also. Went with the GM sensors so it would make it a little easier. Had them (DYIautotune) install the ignition drivers and I'm using a modified stock distributor.

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/ ... e486-1.jpg

Problem I'm having has me stumped.

When I crank the car over with the starter button I get zero RPM showing. If I take the dist out and turn it by hand at about the same speed I get a signel, the RPM shows on the comp screen, the fuel pump kicks on and I can hear the injectors. If I put the dist back in the head and crank it I get nothing. I've even tried turning the dist with it out of the head just enough not to engage with the cam but be grounded and it works. With the dist out, me turning it by hand and hitting the starter button, it gets a signal.

I've switched dist modules with zero change.

Any help, I have a big race coming up on the 24-25 I'm trying to make.

Thanks,

_________________
Suzuki Jon
#04 Suzuki Swift GTI SCCA GT Lite
Giving Suzuki it's first SCCA National Production win, and second, and third....
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/ ... 30ea_m.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/ ... ce_074.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 11:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 7:44 am
Posts: 451
Location: near Burbank, Calif
Put a voltmeter on that circuit and measure the voltage when it is cranking.
What does it show?
Pres

_________________
'89 -made in Japan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 2:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 10:01 am
Posts: 54
Location: Colorado USA
Got a reply from the tech at DYIautotune thats been very helpful about "adjusting the VR input circuit potentiometers."

I checked the pots and found both of them turned 20 turns clockwise. I set both at full counter-clockwise. I found somewhere to set the R56 pot at full counter-clockwise and the R52 pot at 6-8 turns clockwise.

With them set there I got an RPM of about 175 RPM. Good progress!

Everything else looks about right on the gauges, temps, TPS, etc.

New problem, I get no power from the fuel pump relay and no spark. Do I have something else set wrong?

How do I adjust the pots so they are in their "happy place?"

Thanks,
Jon

_________________
Suzuki Jon
#04 Suzuki Swift GTI SCCA GT Lite
Giving Suzuki it's first SCCA National Production win, and second, and third....
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/ ... 30ea_m.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/ ... ce_074.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 1:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 10:01 am
Posts: 54
Location: Colorado USA
It Runs!!!!!!!!!!

I put the stim on and adjusted the pots until the RPM signal was smooth, somewhere around 6-10 turns out. Plugged it back in the car and it sputtered, moved the dist around and got it fired up.

Set the dist by matching the timing on the megatune to the preset on the timing light and matched up the marks. Starts right up, now it's off to the dyno.

Looks like I'll make the Memorial day SCCA race at Miller Motorsports in Salt Lake City.

_________________
Suzuki Jon
#04 Suzuki Swift GTI SCCA GT Lite
Giving Suzuki it's first SCCA National Production win, and second, and third....
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/ ... 30ea_m.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/ ... ce_074.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 1:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:00 am
Posts: 663
Location: Lakeland , Florida
Could you post some pics on your set up im about to install a ms2 on my car and was planning on doing the same upgrade on the dis.. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Stephen


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:58 am 
Offline
Sad but True...

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 8:20 pm
Posts: 2973
Location: Saskatchewan
like me, youll probably run into some flaky rpm values at higher rpms. make sure you put shielded wiring on your dist pickup wires!!

and I still havent tuned my high rpm miss out, the log shows spikes to 144000rpm, and it seems the only way I can get them to stop leaves me with no rpm signal when the ecu is cold. ive been playing with it for months now and im ready to say fuck it and do a 36-1 already >_<

_________________
1991 Swift GT Build G10 +25 psi + other goodies
1996 Metro Build QR25de swap, still undecided where to take it
the lolcar family


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group