TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:06 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 4:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 4:52 pm
Posts: 281
Location: HOLLAND
Where do I have to install my oilpressuregauge in the engine ?!

A pic woul'd realy be a great help ! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 7:12 pm 
Offline
banned
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:52 am
Posts: 1694
it should be at the front of the engine! by the oil filter,, beside it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 8:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
remove that big sheet metal heatshield that sits beside the radiator, you should then have a clear view of your oil filter, and the oil pressure switch (the wire when grounded lights up your low oil pressure light on your dash).
Removing your oil filter will give you better access to the pressure switch. If you're using an electric Autometer oil pressure gauge, the sending unit threads directly into the pressure switch hole without requiring any adapters. When I installed mine, I chose to run a braided stainless steel line and I put a T-fitting on the end to accomodate both the new sending unit and the stock pressure switch. If you're using an electric sending unit check with a multimeter that you have good continuity between the sending unit housing and the negative battery terminal (because I used a stainless line, It was already grounded with only 1-2 ohms of resistance). I have pictures of my own oil pressure gauge installation, but haven't scanned them yet. Here's a page from the service manual how to check for oil pressure from the oil pressure switch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 4:52 pm
Posts: 281
Location: HOLLAND
made a pic,just plug the original (with the yellow wire) out,and than plug the uther one in it? Cant harm if the other one is out ?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2003 4:52 pm
Posts: 281
Location: HOLLAND
About the oiltemprature ...
I plugged it in the side of the head as U can see (the black thing),but it stays a bit low I think,never came above 100 degrees ..
Shall I put it somewhere else ?!

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 7:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
yes the device with the yellow wire is your pressure switch. This is where you can install your oil pressure gauge (or electric sending unit). If you remove the pressure switch, something must fill the hole (either a gauge, pressure switch, sending unit, or just a bolt to plug it) as pressurized oil comes into physical contact with the pressure switch. If you don't put something in the hole your oil pump will use the opening to purge your oil! :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 8:23 pm 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
hey i've got an extra electronic oil pressure gauge from my old volvo, can it be hooked up to the oil pressure switch as well ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 1:28 pm
Posts: 400
Location: San Antonio, Texas
-RubberBurner- wrote:
About the oiltemprature ...
I plugged it in the side of the head as U can see (the black thing),but it stays a bit low I think,never came above 100 degrees ..
Shall I put it somewhere else ?!

Image



Is it just me or does the exhaust manifold on this DOHC look like it only has 3 outlets?

And NO, I do not have cataracts. :D

_________________
Things that go "BOOM" in the night ! Hopefully not the 1.0.
Member#3307 ??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:43 pm
Posts: 488
Location: Everett Wa
I used the control, Mouse Wheel to enlarge the picture of the Engine... It looks like there is an exhaust port under the black thing by the camshaft belts on the left side of the engine.........................

_________________
Dale

1985 Chevy Sprint Mk1 G10 5 Speed Sky Blue


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 7:17 pm
Posts: 3566
Location: Georgetown, Guyana
That's the engine mount - the "missing outlet" is #4 and it's there behind the radiator mount - it just looks that way because of the angle the picture was taken from.

_________________
'93 1.3 Swift GLX
'98 2.0 Grand Vitara


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 1:28 pm
Posts: 400
Location: San Antonio, Texas
That's a relief, I thought I was losing my mind..... :)

_________________
Things that go "BOOM" in the night ! Hopefully not the 1.0.
Member#3307 ??


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group