TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:32 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Amp Problems
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 7:20 am
Posts: 8
Location: Birmingham
Ive had my amp and subs for about 2 years, i have one amp powering 2 woofers. Today on driving home my amp just suddenly cut out. Now it just turns on for one beat then turns off for a few seconds and then turns back on. I can tell this from the power LED light. The one beat only comes out of one of the 2 woofers i have, the other woofer lays dorment.

Ive checked all the connection on the amp and they seem fine. And i have checked the connections from the head unit to the amp and they seem fine aswell. Also all the fuses on the amp and power cable look fine.

Do you think my amp needs replacing or do you think that i need to check every inch of wiring as the problem probably lies there?

Many thanks in advance

_________________
---------------------------
Ichiban


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:22 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
I'd check the grounding. It may only be getting ground through the shield braiding on one of your audio cables.

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:22 pm 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
What he said and check the impedance of the enclosure. You may have a shorted sub since its only one of them playing.

_________________
LNLC Founding Member

FAKE FRIENDS: Never ask for food.
REAL FRIENDS: Is the reason you have no food.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 7:20 am
Posts: 8
Location: Birmingham
Thanks for the advice, i checked the ground cable and it seems fine, i also checked all the cables but they seem fine too, i am however yet to check them all with a multimetre.

However when i originally found the amp was not working i noticed that the phono cables had come out the front of the amp and most probably will have touched whilst the stereos been on. Is this likely to have done some damage? Blown something in my headunit?

I took out the phono cables (and nothing else) and ran my system and it was running exaclty like it was when they were plugged in (same problem of the amp turning on and off).

What do you think? Do you think the problem may lie with the amp or the headunit?

Many thanks in advance!

_________________
---------------------------
Ichiban


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:32 pm 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
Check the impedance of the subs hooked up to it. If that is OK try running a constant power source from the battery to the remote on. If the problem clears up its your remote wire.

_________________
LNLC Founding Member

FAKE FRIENDS: Never ask for food.
REAL FRIENDS: Is the reason you have no food.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:56 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
If you have a car stereo shop nearby, pull it out and have them bench check it for you. My shop does this for like 10 bucks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 7:20 am
Posts: 8
Location: Birmingham
Just thought id follow up for anyone that was interested... basically i checked everything, and followed all your suggestions. In the end I bought a new amp and my system works fine.

So basically my amp gave up on life lol

Thanks to everyone that offered advise.

_________________
---------------------------
Ichiban


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 6:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:24 am
Posts: 11
Location: CANADA EASTCOAST
mind if i ask......what kind of amp was it that you had before your new one?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group