TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:19 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2003 9:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 2:30 am
Posts: 438
Location: Zagreb
I upgraded my stock head unit with a new Panasonic one (4 x 25W ) - it was pretty cheap, so that's why I got it.<br><br>Anyway,<br><br>I pulled my old one out, put in the new one.<br><br>The new one require's me to run one wire ACC to constanst 12V, and the other to the battery with 15A wiring.<br><br>But I couldn't be stuffed, so I hooked those two up to the ones the old head unit used. The white one and the white with black or blue strip, couldn't see the colour right under the dash.<br><br>And this is what happened:<br>11am - Finished putting the headunit in. Listen to it a bit etc.<br>3pm - Jump into my car, starts fine, go and pickup my bro from school which is about 3km away.<br>3.20pm - I've been in the car for last 15min while it's been off listening to the radio, not that loud, buy pretty descent.<br>My brother jumps in, while the radio is on, I try and start the car, but it cranks about 3 times really really slowly, and doesn't wanna start. I try again, and it only cranks about once and dies. So I roll it down the hill and do a jumpstart, yey, it starts up.<br>Go home, leave it running for about 5 min.<br>Turn it off, plug the head unit out.<br>4pm - try starting the car and it starts fine.<br><br>So what is the problem. Shouldn't I listen to radio while the car is off? I don't know what to do.<br><br>The battery is old, but not old enough for me to throw it out and buy a new one.<br><br>Are the white wire and the white with stripe wires the right ones?<br> <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :( --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/frown.gif ALT=":("><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :x --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/sick.gif ALT=":x"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 6:28 am 
get a bigger battery. something like 460cca <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 7:19 am 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
This is embarassing but I don't remember the factory wiring colours. It seems to me though that white/blue isn't the only power there and that red/yellow is also used. CHECK THIS FIRST WITH A METER!!! When I did the stereo in my car all the wiring was replaced and it's actualy been a couple of years since I've seen the factory wiring. You should be able to get the harness diagram off of gti couple's home page to help you out. You should definetly be able to gt more than 20min off listening time though. I would recheck the wiring.<br><br><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://www3.telus.net/gticouple/stuff.html">www3.telus.net/gticouple/stuff.html</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--><br><br>For the harness. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 10:44 am 
Offline
banned
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:52 am
Posts: 1694
<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote><strong><em>Quote:</em></strong><hr>get a bigger battery. something like 460cca <hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END-->you need a bigger battery for a h/u? <p>http://www.whaddat.com/photo_archive/fantasy/61.jpg</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 2:30 am
Posts: 438
Location: Zagreb
I checked the V's with my multimeter, and they were alright,<br><br>but, what sort battery should I get?<br><br>cause mine has been spewing acid for last 10 months or so, so look's like I will have to get a new one, <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :o --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/embarassed.gif ALT=":o"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>It's quite strange that it worked one moment, and didn't the next, could 20min of listening to music really have flatened it? or could it be something else? <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 3:40 pm 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
20min shouldn't hurt. I used to run a full system for 1/2 an hour at a time with no problems. Battery choice depends on a few things. Use a normal battery for normal use. Use an Optima Red Top for heavy duty use and use an Optima Yellow Top for deep cycle use. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 5:17 pm 
Offline
banned
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:52 am
Posts: 1694
YOU HAVE AMP(S)? <p>http://www.whaddat.com/photo_archive/fantasy/61.jpg</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 5:31 pm 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
At the time I was running a 425W Class A amp to my subs and a 50X2W amp to my components. Obviously you wouldn't get very long running full blast for that time but I could get some decent volume for some time and still start my car afterwards. I should be getting my system in my car next week I think and I'll see if I can run it for awhile. 2000W amp to my subs and 150X2W to my components. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2003 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 2:30 am
Posts: 438
Location: Zagreb
nah, no amp,<br><br>only headunit with 4" speakers in the dash, I'm gonna put some 6x9's in the back later, but the head unit was my first priority.<br><br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: h
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 3:44 am 
Offline
banned
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:52 am
Posts: 1694
i get hours of play from my system<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :D --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/happy.gif ALT=":D"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>just be sure to park on a hill<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :rollin --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/roll.gif ALT=":rollin"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p>http://www.whaddat.com/photo_archive/fantasy/61.jpg</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: dead battery
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 10:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:50 pm
Posts: 345
Location: Vernon, BC, Canada
If you've been leaking acid for that long then yes the battery could ahve died that fast if it were empty. I have a cheap motomaster eliminater battery in my car and I run four speakers powered by a four channel amp and two 12" subs powered by a bridged two channel amp. I can go to the drive in movies and watch for hours and then just start up and leave no problem. Get your self a good battery and also change the stock ground strap. A lot of people dont change then and have heaps of trouble. Its only about a 10 gauge piece of wire. So if you ever put an amp in make sure you change this wire as well as run big wire back to the amplifier.<br>Rick <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dead battery
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 5:07 pm 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
If you ar going to change the ground wire you should also upgrade your alt. to batt. wire too. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dead battery
PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 8:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 2:30 am
Posts: 438
Location: Zagreb
ok, took the car to the local auto parts shop,<br>got the guy there to test my battery, it was about 50% of what a new battery is, and it had a dead cell.<br><br>So, ended up getting a new battery, and it seems better, the car starts much faster than it ever did before. <br>It's just a Heavy Duty Champion one, 24 month warranty on it. Only 300CCA,but that's alright, didn't wanna spend any more money on it.<br><br><br>I think the reason it didn't die before and it was ok, cause the old head unit was very weak, and I had no other electronics. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2003 5:47 pm 
there is information available from installer/ audio shop they may charge for it but its better than looking foolish after you put your stuff in <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:00 am
Posts: 89
from my experience, in a Mk2 swift the 2 power wires are as follows
White = constant 12v
White/Black = ACC/ON 12v

and as for your ground, hook it to some clean metal with ring terminals to a nice clean screw.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 12:09 pm 
Offline
King of Pompous
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2001 4:22 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Ottawa ONT.
Ummm...this thread is 4 years old...

_________________
LNLC Founding Member

FAKE FRIENDS: Never ask for food.
REAL FRIENDS: Is the reason you have no food.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group