TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:14 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 12:43 pm 

I am going to chronicle my adventures in overhauling my 2001 Swift's car audio setup. Right now, everything in the car is bone-stock. As fun as it is to listen to Audio Cassettes that I dug out of my closet after 20 years, I really need to update the system.

Background on myself: I have been working with car audio for appx 10 years. I have done installs on about 20 different cars over the years. While I know the basics well enough, I am always open to feedback and suggestions. I am aiming for a practical upgrade for the swift that will be easy on my wallet and not overkill. My other car is a project RX7 that has an overkill system that I use for shows and cruising. Most of my serious car audio expenses go into that rig. The Swift is simply going to get a decent lift in overall audio quality. I would like to increase the quality of the Midrange tones, Highs, and add a "little" bass for a little car. I am using the car to commute, so I just want it to sound decent. I am also going to attempt to use most of the car audio spares that I have laying around my garage. I have three spare 12" subs that i am tempted to put in... but more on that in the goals synopsis.

Pre-project goals:
-Add Bass that compliments the music and is not overpowering.
-Upgrade all speakers to satisfactory levels of sound quality and power.
-Ditch tape deck and Upgrade to Stereo with USB input for Flash Memory MP3 playback.
-Install subwoofer enclosure in a convenient manner that can be removed quickly for use of trunk area.
-Hide Amplifiers in a practical manner that does not eat up trunk space.