TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:23 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 4:42 pm
Posts: 1464
Location: Guelph, Ontario
so vela, there is something i dont understand here. If i were to buy this setup from you. You send the kit or whatever to me, i just unplug the old stock chip and install your board or what? I have a completely stock ECU, do i first have to remove the old chip and solder in one of those sockets or what? Also, congrats and i am very impressed on you accomplishment. Brilliant, just brilliant.

_________________
when the clutch drops, the BS stops

"Life's a rally, cut corners"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:57 am 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Yes Greg, you just have to unsolder the stock chip that's in your ECU and solder in the socket that you get from me, and plug in the board that I've allready made and tested for you. The location of the LEDs and the push button is your choice. Thanks for that coment!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: chip
PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 3:04 pm
Posts: 117
Location: england london
got my chip and all parts are made well. i havent had a chane to test it as i am haveing my adepter fitted at my local tv repair shop. will post as soon as i have tested it. 8)

edit
Had to desoler the eprom myself after going to lots of tv repair shops etc and being told that they cant do it.
i used copper braid anda good solder iorn however it was hard work people here are some pics 8) .by the way i the chip works great meaning i would recomend people get one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 7:01 am 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Hey, thanks! I didn't get the mail about this post becouse you edited it. Cheers!
Come on people, I still have a few boards laying around. It's stupid to waste money on fuel - give it to me instead! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 9:46 am 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
I PM'd few of the guys who were posting here about this... I only have a few kits left and i won't make more of them, (too much work and no time) so if you're thinking about it - let me know soon!
Cheers, Vela.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 2:28 am 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
spt-3x1.0 wrote:
would these be able to do any good in a G10 ECU?


you are SOOO about to get a title under your name. :razz:

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 3:02 am 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
:lol:

No man, the switch is designed to fit the DOHC ECU and the programs in the chip are made for the G13B engine. The switch can be used in your car if it fits in your ECU with no clerance problems and if you have a performance chip for your car.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 6:59 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
spt-3x1.0 wrote:
would these be able to do any good in a G10 ECU?

I'm pretty sure the chip switcher will work with a G10 ECU, but I don't know chips you plan on switching though... (stock + stock?)

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 11:29 am 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
IT assholes at work blocked teamswift yesterday! :ez_mad: I can't reach the forum from work any more. So if anyone needs me, please e-mail me at veltruski@yahoo.com
Cheers!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:28 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
You need a proxy server:

http://www.proxy.org

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:11 pm 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Thanks Lihtan, but I don't want to do anything yet. (don't want to get fired) They'll know what I'm up to, if I try it, for shure. I ordered broadband for home yesterday (don't ask me why I didn't do it sooner :screwball: ) So I should be covered soon. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:06 pm
Posts: 64
Location: Zagreb
I got one as well!! Man I'm so happy right now! I couldn't get the switch earlier becouse of the lack of money. But now i have it installed in my car and I'm just so thrilled!

Great work Vela! We're waiting on your new projects! 8)

:thumbsup:

Ivan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 12:27 am
Posts: 3054
Location: Aruba
Who's this? 8)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NM3vOVDLZ7E

_________________
1991-GTi: JE 75mm 11:1 pistons,Ported head, Single UD pulley (OCC),Sandros chip,Aluminium flywheel,3tech 222/365 cams, Cultus headers,Cultus IM,50mm tb,Crane cams adjustable cam gears,Apex suspension, 4.39fd GB.
1989-GTi: 3Tech 210/340 Cams,Cultus IM, B&G springs, TD04L turbo, Apexi SAFC, Suzukird UD pulley, Circuitse7en dual boost controller, AEM wideband, AEM water / meth injection kit, HKS bov.
2001-Altezza AS200: Stock.-sold
2003-EVO7 GT-A
Aruba "one happy island".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:20 pm 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
I think it's Gabber, this is filmed in Zagreb so I think it's him.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:06 am
Posts: 59
Location: Texas
Question I have is about whether or not the fuel maps on the 1.0 and 1.3L motors on the '89-94's, and on the OBD-2 95-01's had a good lean down-the-highway mode. I'm told that the early EEC-4 Fords had such a program, as Ford had some EPA credits that allowed them to get away with increased NOX emissions. When running right, my beater truck , '86, with the 2.9 gets 28MPG at 70 miles per, which aint bad for a 3300 lb brick. From what I recall reading, 3-way catalysts require a rich/lean cycle of fuel delivery to work correctly, and this ultimately costs fuel economy, particularly on highway running. Some of us are more concerned with burning less fuel than polluting rural areas' air. For those of us who are willing to pollute a bit more, a chip that would run leaner in 5th gear at steady throttle openings might give us more MPG's is of interest.

Do I have my facts right? Some of y'all engineers are more up on this than I am these days.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:01 pm 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
So you want more MPG with a stock chip modified to run lean at lower rpm? That would cost some money and alot of time (witch I don't have) to make and noone would buy it. That's why this switch was made in the first place, read the first post of this thread.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: i just got it
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:44 am
Posts: 246
i just got in the mail today, i am going to install it and let you guys know how it goes!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: it's done!!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 8:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:44 am
Posts: 246
OK GUYS, I DID IT YESTARDAY, AND YES I MUST USE CAPSLOCK BECAUSE THIS SUPER DUPER THING ROCKS!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :)

This is by far the best investment I ever made into the car, the chips works flawlessly AND the timing and fuel maps are WAY BETTER THAN MY PREVIOUS CHIP!!! No problems on low end torque, its mapped brilliantly from the start of the rpm all the way to redline. The car pulls like a mofo!!!

Another advantage is that I can simply press the switch when I use nitrous to go back to the stock mapping so that the timings are not as agressive. Very practical.

Anyway, I highly recommend this chip to everyone, it's a cheap and very effective mod, the switch is smooth and I did it while driving several times. Simply awesome :!: :!: :!: :!:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 12:27 am
Posts: 3054
Location: Aruba
Ok I did mine also. It's been installed now for a lil over a week.

The results?

It pulls VERY VERY HARD/STRONG to 8000rpm!!! Even in 4th! That was a shock to me! :shock: It was clearly an upgrade from my first chip. I mean, the chip I had was awesome! but this one surprised me in 4th gear. Less road is needed to reach the same high speed being reached with the first chip.

Switching is a dream! It's so fast it's incredible. You will notice rpm @ idle will go up a little, and when you lift off the gas pedal, the engine speed won't fall as fast as stock program.

It's highly recommended.

Thanks Vela. Good Job!

_________________
1991-GTi: JE 75mm 11:1 pistons,Ported head, Single UD pulley (OCC),Sandros chip,Aluminium flywheel,3tech 222/365 cams, Cultus headers,Cultus IM,50mm tb,Crane cams adjustable cam gears,Apex suspension, 4.39fd GB.
1989-GTi: 3Tech 210/340 Cams,Cultus IM, B&G springs, TD04L turbo, Apexi SAFC, Suzukird UD pulley, Circuitse7en dual boost controller, AEM wideband, AEM water / meth injection kit, HKS bov.
2001-Altezza AS200: Stock.-sold
2003-EVO7 GT-A
Aruba "one happy island".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:21 am
Posts: 423
Location: Invercargill, New Zealand
eegads! This is incredibly interesting stuff Vela! :shock:

Would this kind of thing work for a MK1 like mine?

_________________
Before downloading, you may want to read this: http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php?p=246047
Mark 1 Workshop manual: http://d01.megashares.com/dl/qAE1O4k/SA ... Manual.PDF
mk2/mk3 GTI manual: http://d01.megashares.com/dl/7pbE6NH/Su ... K2and3.zip

Rock stock 1988 AA33S SA413 HEJ574 Holden Barina GTI rebuild complete! http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=39669 - Deceased and stripped for parts
1987 AA33S SA413 HEJ574 Holden Barina GTI MK1 - gone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 5:12 am 
Offline
Mad Scientist
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 1092
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Yes, I think it should... if the ECU is the same, and I think it is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2006 12:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 12:27 am
Posts: 3054
Location: Aruba
Here is how I mounted mine:

http://www.teamswift.net/album_page.php?pic_id=10492

The view @ my cluster:

http://www.teamswift.net/album_page.php?pic_id=10493

edit:

Some shot I took at night:

http://www.teamswift.net/album_page.php?pic_id=10513

http://www.teamswift.net/album_page.php?pic_id=10514

_________________
1991-GTi: JE 75mm 11:1 pistons,Ported head, Single UD pulley (OCC),Sandros chip,Aluminium flywheel,3tech 222/365 cams, Cultus headers,Cultus IM,50mm tb,Crane cams adjustable cam gears,Apex suspension, 4.39fd GB.
1989-GTi: 3Tech 210/340 Cams,Cultus IM, B&G springs, TD04L turbo, Apexi SAFC, Suzukird UD pulley, Circuitse7en dual boost controller, AEM wideband, AEM water / meth injection kit, HKS bov.
2001-Altezza AS200: Stock.-sold
2003-EVO7 GT-A
Aruba "one happy island".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 7:22 pm
Posts: 66
Location: Langley BC
I recieved the chip switch. Nicely made. Can't wait to try it!

_________________
happiness is doing your best when the going is easy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 12:27 am
Posts: 3054
Location: Aruba
Track results:

On 26th Jan I went to the track and managed to do 2 runs only with the Chip switch:

Both runs were 16:38xx. 60ft were 2.6xxx and 2.7xxx.

My only mods include a Genie headers, single underdrive pulley and 8mm ignition wires.

I think it's time to invest in some good tyres. I believe I can do a 16:1xxx with the chip and some good tyres.

1/4mile speeds were 85.66 and 86.36.

This is just an update on the chip switch.

_________________
1991-GTi: JE 75mm 11:1 pistons,Ported head, Single UD pulley (OCC),Sandros chip,Aluminium flywheel,3tech 222/365 cams, Cultus headers,Cultus IM,50mm tb,Crane cams adjustable cam gears,Apex suspension, 4.39fd GB.
1989-GTi: 3Tech 210/340 Cams,Cultus IM, B&G springs, TD04L turbo, Apexi SAFC, Suzukird UD pulley, Circuitse7en dual boost controller, AEM wideband, AEM water / meth injection kit, HKS bov.
2001-Altezza AS200: Stock.-sold
2003-EVO7 GT-A
Aruba "one happy island".


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 172 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group