TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:36 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: performance eprom chip .
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2001 10:15 pm 
i have performance chip for ;<br><br>mk3(round dashboard) 92 onward swift gti...the program <br>is suzuki sport rally/race spec..256eprom<br><br>mk2(square dashboard) rally/race spec 128eprom..<br>both program remove fuel cut limit...(standart cut at 7500rpm)<br> <br>selling at $US 50 each with 28pin socket ,included postal to any destination.<br><br>cantact me <!--EZCODE MAIL START--><a href="mailto:chowboon13@hotmail.com"> chowboon13@hotmail.com</a><!--EZCODE MAIL END--><br><br>payment method thru paypals,western union or others convenient method.<br> <br><br>visit here for some photo about my gti<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://sg.photos.yahoo.com/chowboon13" target="top">sg.photos.yahoo.com/chowboon13</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--><br><br><br><br><br> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub83.ezboard.com/bteamswift.showUserPublicProfile?gid=whiteshado@teamswift>whiteshado</A> at: 2/22/03 6:16:24 pm<br></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2001 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
What is involved in installing these, and is the ECU the same in an 89 GTi. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2001 7:48 am 
89 gti is consider mk2 gti..using eprom 27C128 to store the information..<br><br> to install the eprom integrated circuit..here is the procedure to remove the ecu from the car first..<br> first remove battery -ve terminal. prevent short circuit.<br> <br> first u have to dismantle the ecu..located under the dash ,above the fuse box ..hold up by qty 3 bolt, size 10mm ..one at the fire wall ,2 at the opposite side..near the built in speaker.<br> <br> before u can reach the ecu box u may want to remove the L angle plate holding the white plastic plate terminal where the power and bunch of wire and relay connecting ,another side of the L plate is to the chasis..remove the 12mm nut..and the 10mm bolt..let the wire hang dowm..<br> remove 3 yellow connector(difference size) connecting to the ecu..using two long (about 1 feet)commom screwdriver ..used one to press the connector locking button in ,used another slowly push out the connector.after all 3 connector have been remove slowly move them out and dowm to one side so that ..u will clearly see the 2 bolt holding the ecu ..now using box rachet no. 10mm to remove it.and used socket to remove another one opposite at the firewall...<br> after the ecu is free .slowly make it way out..u may need to gently clear a side some wire to make a way for the ecu to come out carefull not to loosen or break any wire..and also pressing the brake and accelerator pedal to create some space...take ur time and patiently remove it..as its not easy.carefull on sharp metal edge it may cut your hand.<br> <br> the ecu is hold up by 6 long philip screw..remove it...than u will see another 6 short philip screw..remove them..push the circuit board up to 90 degree carefull on the thin wire connecting 2 of the circuit board ..the eprom is located at the circuit board where u just push up...its 28 pin eprom mask by a silver sticker...the one and the only one..try cut some part of the silver masking to exposed the eprom manufacturer identification it will read 27C128-XX or 27128A-XX...and 27C256-XX for mk3( 91 to 93 on)carefull about the cutting not to exposed the round clear window..which will erase the eprom information..<br><br> this time make sure u are properly ground ur self as the eprom is static sensitive device..do not touch any integrated circuit by holding their pin...hold it by the black plastic casing..<br><br> u have to desolder(take out) the original eprom..solder a socket which i will supply and than plug in the performance chip...as this is not a easy job , because you need a good soldering skills and proper soldering and desolder machine.i will suggest this job to be done by qualify and know how personal...<br>bad solder joint can caused ecu malfunction and intermittently fault ,it may damage the eprom also..<br><br> i hope i have explaint ur question.<br><br> this eprom will work great and plenty of fun on your gt.the improvement is notice immediately.<br><br><br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2001 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
So I would need to buy the rally spec chip then I was just wondering of the chip would work but thanks for the info about soldering the socket. I would be interested in one of those chips depending on the improvements. Is higher octane gas required for either on and where did you get these from?<br>Thanks for your info. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2001 1:58 am 
Hey, i had a question about these chips you have. I am not familiar with Group A chips or any "Group" chips for that matter. What is this chip like? Does it just advance timing and remove rev limit? Or does it do fuel remapping? I am curious to know about these chips you have. <p><a href="http://members.home.net/imstaying">My GTi Page<BR><BR></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2001 9:29 am 
it is best to used 98RON petrol..the chip did advanced the ignition timimg .so u have to adjust ur ignition timimg to standart 6 degree.the fuel mapping also richer state..running airfuel ratio 14.0 to 14.2 at full throter..back to 14.7 at normal driving.<br>the improvement is the rpm will climd up faster..the car will pull harder..and also the rev limit of 7500 is removed..<br><br>Big Gti guys i remember u ..u did send me the white dial u make...thanks. <br>i dont mind send 1 chip for u to try out..if not wrong ur is mk3 rite ? if u really interested send me ur address to my email..i will send u one chip for try out ..if u are not satisfy with the improvement..send back to me. <br>another way if u happy with my chip on ur gti..than pay me US60 dollar...how about that ? <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2001 3:02 pm 
Hey, that sounds fair enough. I will email you with the details. Did you ever try those guages out? And yes you are right about mine being an Mk3. It is a Canadian 1992 Mk3. <p><a href="http://members.home.net/imstaying">My GTi Page<BR><BR></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2001 3:36 am 
i have apexi turbo timer with airfuel ratio gauge to read it..<br>i also have HKs turbo timer type 1 with time accela 0 to 100kmhrs..my time is 7.92.<br>extractor ,goos exhaust,K&N airfilter with heat shield,ridium plug,ngk blue cable,mallory ign coil,fuel presure regulator, with performance chip. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2001 1:46 am 
Hey, i would like to say thanx for the offer on the chip but after replanning my attack on my Swift, i am going to try and finish one project before i start another one. I have to get my turbo project going before i start another one. Maybe after i finish this project and the offer still stands i might be interested but like i said, i just have too many unfinished projects and am going to try and finish some before starting new ones. <p><a href="http://members.home.net/imstaying">My GTi Page<BR><BR></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: eprom upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2001 4:13 am 
hey whiteshado, i'm a little ignorant on these group 'a' chips. can u tell me more about them. i'm currently looking for a chip for my 92 mk3 gti. so far i've ony been to superchips and bbr starchips for info. can u also tell me some other stuff like - how does it affect fuel consumption, r they custom programmed (i have k&n induction filter and ecotek cb-26p valve), r they safe?!!?? ie. its not going to blow my ecu if i boot it, cos i've heard alot of horror stories involving chips. and whats the hp increase? do i need to get the car re-tuned after instaling? do i need to use higher octane fuel?<br><br>cheers man, ur help would be appreciated.<br><br>oh, and do u know where i could get a cheap rocker cam cover (preferably red)<br><br>taz <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: eprom upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2001 11:18 am 
refer http://www.rallycodriver.co.uk for groupA specification mean.<br><br>cams cover ? the blue top of engin with twimcams 16 vavle wording ? only saw blue never see red one. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: eprom upgrade
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2001 8:39 pm 
My Australian 89 GTi came with a Red Cam cover. I have just put in a Cultus engine which came with a Blue one. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: eprom upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2002 1:53 pm 
any ideas where to get hold of them seperatly? <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2002 7:47 am 
Hello,<br><br>Do you have a chip for the MK1 or do you know where to get a cheap one.<br><br>Thanx.<br><br>P.S. I'm from the Netherlands <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2002 9:19 am 
no i dunt have for mk1 ..sorry not sure who have mk1 chip <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2002 9:14 pm 
Ha how are you guys doing but I wanted to ask you how good is that chip for drag racing and how high would my red line go.By the way I have a 92 let me know and where are you I'm in Ontario, Canada... Thanks... <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re:kc import
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2002 3:39 am 
how high u want to red line ? 8500rpm enough ?<br>drag racing 1/4 mile ? what u have in ur car ? big cams ? header ? airfilter ,iginition ?<br>what is ur 1/4 mile timing now ? <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Re:kc import
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2002 8:52 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
Whiteshado,<br><br>Do you have the details inginition curve of the chip? How much it advanced?<br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Whiteshado
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:42 pm 
By the way I have a header, exhaust K&N filter, Crans cam ignition, fuel pressure regulator and pump also a 55 shot NOS and with traction problems the car did 15.5 at 93mph so the car should be in high 14 but I want to get there with no NOS no TURBO and no SUPERCHARGER.....and I was slaping the gear at 7000 RPM and I would like to reach 8000 without cutting out spark or fuel. Where can I get this chip????? <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: nos and chip
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2002 10:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2001 11:41 am
Posts: 189
Location: Vancouver
having nos and running a chip doesnt seem to go well together - a chip typically advances your ignition maps<br><br>i have a similar setup<br><br>i developed a dual mode chip that you can flip between performance and factory<br><br>email me if your interested<br><br>Tom <p><P><A HREF="http://www3.telus.net/tc2468/">Tom's Webpage</A></P><P><A HREF="http://www3.bc.sympatico.ca/tc2468/swiftgti/ssgti90/ssgti90_pics.html"><IMG SRC="http://www3.bc.sympatico.ca/tc2468/small2.gif" BORDER=0 WIDTH=60 HEIGHT=45></A></P></BODY></HTML></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: KC import
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2002 10:56 pm 
i have what u want..email me<br>chowboon13@hotmail.com<br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tom
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:02 pm 
Hey Tom this my posting here, if u wana sell ur chip make it else where..ur comment is not accurate u have a 89gt..its diference from 92 gt...ur chip suck..its my big mistake to exchange chip with u..lucky enough i still have others mk3 256 chip to play with.<br>so those chip u selling is my program or yours ? i can see from ur adverstisement where the chip is made MALAYSIA ..and its 27C128 that is my chip ? where is yours ?<br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: whiteshado
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2001 11:41 am
Posts: 189
Location: Vancouver
i have a 3 different chips which are custom<br>the latest one employs dual programs<br><br>the original 2 are 128k the latter is 256k mk2 or mk3<br>yes we did trade chips, thanks, comparing chips was very beneficial to trying to back engineer suzuki programs<br><br>your chip is not used anymore<br><br>PS. my chips dont suck<br><br> <p><P><A HREF="http://www3.telus.net/tc2468/">Tom's Webpage</A></P><P><A HREF="http://www3.bc.sympatico.ca/tc2468/swiftgti/ssgti90/ssgti90_pics.html"><IMG SRC="http://www3.bc.sympatico.ca/tc2468/small2.gif" BORDER=0 WIDTH=60 HEIGHT=45></A></P></BODY></HTML></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tom
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 6:19 am 
hey Tom i see u promoting ur chip everywhere in the forum still not enough ? why must u step into others posting ? dunt u remember those camsgears group purchase somebody just step in offering better and cheaper ..can u understand this kind of feeling ? and i neber step into ur adv and give coment .<br>its doesnt mean that i know less than u ..<br>ur coment the chip only advance timing is wrong..some chip did that ..some dont if u have airfuel ratio meter like i have apexi digital display than u will know how they doing.<br><br>for ur infor i have 3 ecu :mk2 ,mk3 and suzukisport competition ecu.<br>suzukisport chip mk3<br>suzukisport chip mk2<br>Rospen chip mk2<br>Rospen chip mk3<br>BBR chip mk2<br>powerchip mk3<br>superchip mk3<br>SSGTi chip mk3<br>SSGTi chip mk2<br>and yea ur chip u know why i said ur chip suck because i compare and test all of them,that why u can see my ecu is permanently on the floor .and i know which one is good .<br><br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tom
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2002 7:44 am 
Hey Whiteshadow:<br><br>I own a turbocharged swift and for obvious reasons I don't want a chip that advance the timing a lot. I'm looking for someone who can make a custom chip just to move the rev limiter to around 8500 RPM's and that instead of cutting fuel, it will cut the ignition. Do you know if this can be made? If those two conditions(or at least the 8500 thingy) can be accomplished then I would like to know if it's possible to retard the timing curve based on RPM's. <br><br>Wilfredo <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group