TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:43 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 186 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 5:15 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
What is a Group A racing cam?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:15 am
Posts: 182
Location: Luton,England/Athens,Greece
group A:
duration (not.050): ex- 256, in- 264
valve lift (mm): ex 8.85, in- 8.85
ex.op: 54, ex.cl: 22, in.op: 28, in.cl: 56


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:44 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
Shouldn't be a problem. US$275/exchange.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 3:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 318
Location: Prostejov
suprf1y wrote:
Shouldn't be a problem. US$275/exchange.


Great. And how can I be sure, that cams will have that numbers?

I am from Europe, so if i get them from you, i have to first buy here stock ones and send it to you?

Lander


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 4:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Great. And how can I be sure, that cams will have that numbers?

I am from Europe, so if i get them from you, i have to first buy here stock ones and send it to you?


Give me a proper Duration number(at .050" lift), and I can give you a guarantee.
Yes, it works best if you send me cams first,otherwise I have to charge a core charge($$).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:15 am
Posts: 182
Location: Luton,England/Athens,Greece
Lander wrote:
suprf1y wrote:
Shouldn't be a problem. US$275/exchange.


...........i have to first buy here stock ones and send it to you?




...................suprf1y........thats remind me something..............hehe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 318
Location: Prostejov
leoluton wrote:
Lander wrote:
suprf1y wrote:
Shouldn't be a problem. US$275/exchange.


...........i have to first buy here stock ones and send it to you?




...................suprf1y........thats remind me something..............hehe


Can you explain it for me please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:15 am
Posts: 182
Location: Luton,England/Athens,Greece
...............i have the same prob as u mate.............i am looking to buy stock cams, to send them to suprf1y.........but i cant find anywhere at the moment.

by the way...........which part of Europe r u from?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 318
Location: Prostejov
leoluton wrote:
...............i have the same prob as u mate.............i am looking to buy stock cams, to send them to suprf1y.........but i cant find anywhere at the moment.

by the way...........which part of Europe r u from?


Czech republic, it is middle of Europe.

It is possible to change duration of stock cams to group A cams?

Any other mods I need to do to install that cams?

Lander


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 2:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Monroe, WA
How much meat are we going to loose off the base circle? For us guys with shims this may cause some problems.

_________________
Malcolm

'95 Metro 1.0 / 5 spd
165,000 miles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 5:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
I'm assuming that you have a 3cyl. All of the grinds are 'mild' enough that the hydraulic lifter takes up the lash, and no shims are required. All the listed cams are useable out of the box. I'm working now on a few race profiles that will be borderline with the stock lifters, as well as a solid lifter race cam, which will require shimming for adjustment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:18 am
Posts: 438
Location: Portugal - Lisbon
i guess group A cam´s can work with the stock lifters...
what do you ppl think?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 6:15 am
Posts: 182
Location: Luton,England/Athens,Greece
CaZaM wrote:
i guess group A cam´s can work with the stock lifters...
what do you ppl think?


yeah they ll work fine with the stock lifters..........as the lift are 8.85mm for both inlet and exhaust. for lifts 9mm or higher you need new lifters. if i am wrong pls correct me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 12:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Monroe, WA
I guess the only other thing would be, what's the computer going to think about it? Do you have any of these cams running yet?

I've been fooling around with Desktop Dyno trying to get the 1.0 put in. So far those cam numbers look they're adding almost 20 HP!

Who knows the valve sizes on these things?

_________________
Malcolm

'95 Metro 1.0 / 5 spd
165,000 miles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .....
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 7:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
So you do not build up the cam lobes first, before re-profiling?

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 8:42 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
Yes there are some out there and they are working fine with the stock computer.
The valve sizes are 35mm Int. 28mm Exh.

No, the lobes aren't built up before grinding, there is no need to, and you don't want to to that unless it is absolutly neccesary.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 11:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Monroe, WA
Thanks suprf1y,
That sounds good. What kind of 'seat of the pants' difference does it make? It's sounding like something I'd like to try. That is, unless I find a G13 in the near future. :)

_________________
Malcolm

'95 Metro 1.0 / 5 spd
165,000 miles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 12:49 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Monroe, WA
Here's the numbers I'm getting in Desktop Dyno with the new cam

Stock exhaust
70 hp @ 6500
63 ft lbs @ 5000

With header
86 hp @ 6500
74 ft lbs @ 5000

Sound close?

_________________
Malcolm

'95 Metro 1.0 / 5 spd
165,000 miles


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 4:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
Due to requests, I've opened up a PayPal account, and you can now use your credit card to buy truckloads of camshafts.
I will be testing the 1.0l 3cyl 'race grind' in the next week, and will have available a .330"(8.4mm) lift/235 dur@.050 grind for the GTi. That will be a real high revver!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 9:21 pm
Posts: 42
Location: Taneyville,Mo... try to find it!!!
these cams are sounding great. I have '92 3 banger and i want one of ur cams but do u have another setup except for race? like a street cam is what im after, what kind of hp/ ft lbs am i going to see?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 5:11 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
These are the street grinds.

89-up 3cyl.
Lift ________Dur at .050"
.340_______212
.350_______220

I can't give you hp, or torque numbers, because every setup is different.
Please PM me if you are need more info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 3:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 3:55 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Austin, Texas
what important mods or parts would need to be put on a metro when using one of these cams?

_________________
1996 Geo Metro - 3 cylinder - 1.0L


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 4:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2003 9:19 pm
Posts: 1483
Location: South Point Ohio
WillieLevi wrote:
what important mods or parts would need to be put on a metro when using one of these cams?


Nothing, just throw it right on.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cam mods
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 5:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2003 7:35 pm
Posts: 448
Location: MISSISSIPPI
Any thing you can do to get more air in and out of your motor will increase the power. hi flow air filter (K&N), colder air, and free flow exhaust. all will work better with a bigger cam. The trade off is with longer duration you will lose bottom end torque. If you have an automatic this is harder to live with. The motor is just an air pump- more air + more fuel will make more power - up to a point!
One other thing “motors do not know what is written on the valve cover”. You can hotrod anything!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:13 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8044
Location: Ontario, Canada
Both answers were right. No mods are required for the installation of one of my 3cyl. cams.
Larry is correct, and the 3cyl. is particularly sensitive to the type of mods he suggested. First and foremost, you should be looking at a free flowing exhaust, at least 1 7/8" or 2". The stock exhaust is VERY restrictive. After that, you will see much better results from a cam change. I always recomend that people do the exhaust first, before the cam, or at least be aware of the potential results first.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 186 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group