TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:14 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:42 am 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
yes you do need to remove the intake & bore/grind the hole bigger ..
also the nissan tb's vary .. eg. some require some modification to make the suzuki tps sensor fit and others need bits like the hole in the throttle plate welded over.
the 60mm sr20 tb i got recently from daley was a direct bolt on, however it doesn't have a seperate idle screw, so the idle has to be set by adjusting the throttle stop & then repositioning/recalibrating the tps sensor.

_________________
'92 Swift GT, '94 Swift GT, '88 Turbo Sprint, '98 Swift ... all sold years ago


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 7:23 pm
Posts: 1071
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri USA
Don't know if anyone else has tried this but the shaft from a standard gt t/b will fit in the 60mm t/b (mines off a 240sx I think) i.e. no modification of the tps button required and you don't have to put the tps on upside down. The only thing is the slot for the butterfly will have to be made longer to slide the 60mm butterfly in but the screw holes line up perfect. Think this can be solved with a drill press fairly easily. It's probably more work this way but it allows you to use all your suzuki linkage. Not quite done tinkering with it as I'm putting an idle screw in it. I can post up some pics or send them to Kris if anyones interested. Also hacking up a STR competition H**da fuel rail for the swift. Takes very little work and they bolt right up no problem.

_________________
"the Dali Lama told me that on my death bed I would regain total consciousness.....so I've got that going for me"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 11:05 am 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
yes, post some pics. I'll try that on mine tonight.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 12:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 7:23 pm
Posts: 1071
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri USA
Ok threw a few pics up in my personal album http://www.teamswift.net/album_personal.php?user_id=250. Still haven't got the idle screw in it. Only issue I need to address on it is where the throttle stop is. The stop on the shaft doesn't quite come out of the tb enough, so when you tighten it all up the shaft won't rotate. Might not be an issue on the sr20 tb. Haven't taken mine off my car to check yet. Some material will be removed or some spacer added to fix this when I get time. I opened up the shaft to accept the 60mm butterfly with a quick pass of a sawsall. Spacers are $.65 aluminum spacers from hardware store. The rail is pretty simple. Cut off extra brackets, drilled out mounting holes to size of suzuki bolt and ground out a channel so they'd slide in and tighten. Counter sunk the bottom of the mounting bracket so the little plastic spacer will slide in. Ground out a hole so the injector can rotate. There's a chamber for this on one end but not the other. I've got cosmetic stuff left to do on it now. Clean up my channels sand it and polish it. Just did it real quick to see if it would actually mount up. When these are totally done I'll throw in some good pics.

_________________
"the Dali Lama told me that on my death bed I would regain total consciousness.....so I've got that going for me"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 9:58 am 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
I got around to checking the swift TB shaft out. I got it in, and opened up the hole in the middle to fit the larger throttle plate. Fits great. I just had to grind down the shaft a bit to get the throttle cable assembly to slide down the shaft a bit more. I eliminated most of the ridge that stuck out and stopped the assembly from going further down. I should be done with it tonight.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:04 am 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
Ok. Here's my just about done TB. I found on the 54MM TB you don't need to fab up a throttle stop. Just use your old swift one!! There's 2 holes (http://www.teamswift.net/~geozukigti/tb/tb3.jpg) un-threaded that are in the exact same postition as the ones on the swift TB that held the throttle stop. So I tapped some threads in there, bolted the bad boy in, and it fit absolutely perfect. Even the cutout for the spring pin was in the exact right postition. And it stops the TB from opening past 90 degrees perfectly with the huge flange on the back of the throttle stop. Here's the rest of the pictures. Oh, and I used the throttle plate shaft from the swift TB also. Just used my grinder to open it up a bit. Now I just gotta see if I can find a home-made way of doing the throttle postition sensor. Oh, and you need new, longer studs to fit the new TB to the intake manifold.
http://www.teamswift.net/~geozukigti/tb/tb2.jpg
http://www.teamswift.net/~geozukigti/tb/tb1.jpg
http://www.teamswift.net/~geozukigti/tb/newstuds.JPG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 8:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:18 am
Posts: 438
Location: Portugal - Lisbon
so i have to use the TPS of the GTi? right?
i will get a s13 tb

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:51 am
Posts: 167
Location: Australia
Ive already begun collecting the parts needed to upgrade my AFM and TB.

I already have a "SUZITech" 49mm AFM and "MALPASSI" fuel pressure regulator sitting in my room while i figure out what size TB i should use.
Ive read that people are using 60mm NISSAN SR20DE TB's, but ive also been told its pointless using a 60mm TB if the AFM is max bored to 49mm.

I have a mate that has several NISSAN TB at home, but i want opinions on what size is best suited for this setup.

Is it also a neccesity to use a Fuel Pressure Reg in this setup as the car will start to lean out ???

How do i go about checking the Air/Fuel Mixture ???


Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:21 pm 
Offline
The Smuggler
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 12:34 am
Posts: 2885
Location: Surrey, BC CANADA
Wow Nick
You woke up a very old thread.
Hope the guys can answer your questions.

_________________
"I love the whine of a turbo in the mornin" 1991 Sprint Turbo
"I also love the 7500 rpm scream of a DOHC" :razz: 2X 1989 Swift GTi's a 92 and Jr's new 93 GT

Keep your eye on the boost guage!
And I love this one!
"Dale Jarrett's crew chief" "Drive it like ya STOLE IT!"
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:51 am
Posts: 167
Location: Australia
Haha, yeah i noticed... Ive only had my Swift for about 2years and the last year or so ive begun to focus on getting engine work done, but i dont earn very much so im trying to get alot of work done by myself, my mechanic cousin, and a mechanical engineer freind, to try and keep labour costs as low as possible. But obviously some work needs to be done by professionals.

Im trying to reach my target of 100HP ATW naturally aspirated, the only dyno run i did, the car made 75.2 HP ATW, before 4-1 extractors, aftermarket ignition, coil, tach adapter and full major service.

Ive heard people net good gains in power from AFM and TB modifications, for a reasonable amount of money. Some bigger cams are also on the "To Do List", just waiting for a set of BD10's to come up second hand at a good price.


Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 9:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:28 pm
Posts: 276
Location: Trinidad
If I bore out the standards TB would I need to modify or change the standard butterfly ??

_________________
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=551883908


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:45 am
Posts: 405
Location: Palmyra,VA
YES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:43 pm
Posts: 789
Location: lisboa;Portugal
can anyone tell me the maximum bore size on a stock gti throttle body? 50 or 55???

_________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/811447


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:19 am
Posts: 361
Location: Canberra, Australlia
About 50-51mm. Never seen anyone take it out to 55mm

_________________
ImageET 13.138 at 120.2mph


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:43 pm
Posts: 789
Location: lisboa;Portugal
ok thanks

_________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/811447


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:43 pm
Posts: 789
Location: lisboa;Portugal
will the stock throttle body bored to 50 or 51 work great on a mild engine?? than the 55 nissan?? , like i have
i got the g10 stock single pulley and better exausth and a mushroom type filter in the maf, and i3 ecu chiped in toms rally chip........................
i don´t wan´t to go crazy about the throttle cause i have almost no mods

_________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/811447


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:43 pm
Posts: 789
Location: lisboa;Portugal
just bored out the stock throttle to 52 and it works great :mrgreen:

_________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/811447


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 2:28 pm
Posts: 276
Location: Trinidad
I tried this too but couldnt get it to idle properly, did you have any idle issues ?

_________________
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=551883908


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:43 pm
Posts: 789
Location: lisboa;Portugal
djaggs wrote:
I tried this too but couldnt get it to idle properly, did you have any idle issues ?

i had to adjust the iddle screw and tps properly, but works great
but i have tom´s rally chip

how it was after the overbore to 52
Image
Image

_________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/811447


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group