TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:06 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:46 am 

Hi and THANK YOU everybody!
I am fortunate to have inherited a 1988 Suzuki Swift with a G13A engine code from my Grandfather. The vehicle is located here on my great-great-grandmother's farm in Sweden! I learned to drive a stick-shift with this big guy when i was little. I have NO experience with carbureted engines but have been reading up here on this cool, radical forum!

(background) 1988 Suzuki Swift 1.3 G13A engine code (possibly with a 1987 engine date???)

-The vehicle sits in the barn 3/4 of the year, often in freezing temperatures as i can only visit Sweden for 90days/year. The other 1/4 of the year it is used, respectfully, as a farm vehicle (pick-up truck.)

-A family member accidently filled up with ethanol and ran it for a while like that. It stopped running for a bit then we diluted the tank with normal gasoline and it is now running 'OK.'

The car has been good to our family for a long time now but i'm afraid it's now having NEW problems:

-At idle the car stumbles around a bit but does not seem to idle too high
-When left at idle it will sputter out/off
-During light acceleration it hesitates/stumbles a bit
-During normal acceleration it hesitates/stumbles a LOT
-At wide-open-throttle it performs like a CHAMPiON! (after a moment of hesitation)

I have checked the Oil, fuel filter, and air filter in addition to a basic visual inspection of the fuel and air/vac. lines but i DON'T know what i am looking for!

Read up on a GREAT post from TeamSwift member Phil N Ed (thank you!) about DiY carburetor Rebuild but as it is for the 1.0 MK1 vehicles i am not shure how much would apply to this G13A.