TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:26 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:05 pm 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
This is for a manual to manual swap.
TIP - Wiring becomes MUCH easier if you pull them from a donor car of the same MK. AKA MK2=89-91, and MK3=92-94.

G13B DOHC ENGINE (duh)
Drive axles AND midshaft from GTi(SOHC axles work, but not recemmonded)

GTi Clutch and flywheel

GTi throttle cable (Available at any Suzuki dealer for $25 brand spankin new)

front knuckles and brakes(Again, SOHC work also, just weaker. BUT, you can put 13" wheels on the SOHC knuckles)

GTi struts and springs. Not required, but highly recemmonded

GTi fuel pump

GTi wiring harness - Again, to avoid big hassles, make sure the donor car is the same MK as yours. You'll want the complete interior and engine harness. You don't need the harness that goes to the rear of the car.

1.3L engine mounts - SOHC or DOHC mounts are the same. As long as they came off a G13B.

1.3L shift Linkage - SOHC or DOHC are ok

Wheels to fit your knuckles - Your 12" wheels aren't gonna fit son :) If you're using SOHC parts, 13" wheels are ok, GTi parts, 14" are needed. 4X114.3

Gauge Cluster - 1.3 SOHC gauges will work, but will have an 85mph Speedo. The 3cyl cluster won't work because the tach will not readout the RPM's on a 4 cylinder properly

Transmission - Not really necessary, but the GTi trans has a 4.11:1 final drive, while the regular metro has a 3.89:1. Or, if you really want a torquey car, the metro convertible trans has a 4.39:1 final drive.

Exhaust system - The metro exhaust system is WAY too small for the 1.3
the GTi exhaust will work fine on the hatchback 2 door metros.

Re-loacting transmission mount - Here's a diagram of the mounting bracket. Click on them to see them :) Measurements are in inches(except the holes)
Image
Image



If I missed anything, or if there are any other suggestions for alternative parts, feel free to post them. I'll append them to this list.

Thanks jmp2451 for givin me a kick in the ass to get this list out and stop bitching about newbies tryin to learn :) + Karma points


Last edited by GeoZukiGTi on Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 8:57 am
Posts: 87
Location: Ohio
hey man i appreciate it. that is the info i needed. THANKS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 11:29 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:26 pm
Posts: 4111
Location: seattle
GeoZukiGTi wrote:
TIP - Wiring becomes MUCH easier if you pull them from a donor car of the same MK. AKA MK2=89-91, and MK3=92-94.


or just change your mk2 to a mk3 ,or vise versa!! :wink:

_________________
GO FAST TURN LEFT!! IF YOU HAVE TO TURN RIGHT, YOU NEED A ROUND OF WEDGE!!!

here is my sig. karma if you look

Dattman wrote:
If you want big wheels buy a tractor...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:49 pm
Posts: 341
Location: Bellingham, WA
regular metro has the 4.10 tranny, XFI has the 3.89 and convertible has the 4.39. metro tranny will bolt up but swift DOHC tranny has extra tapped hole at bottom of tranny for brace and there is also a brace that goes from rear tranny cover to drivers side tranny mount


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 6:18 am 
Offline
Village Idiot
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 6:41 am
Posts: 762
Location: London/Kent
Im surprise the SOHC cluster would work?? i know the 1.0s do not but teh sohcs, im surprised, anybody care to shed info?

Prab

_________________
Image

Renault 25! no better dash then this!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:39 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:26 pm
Posts: 4111
Location: seattle
the dash in my vert is out af a suzuki sidekick. works perfectly. i only had to change the cover over the warning lights at the bottom of the cluster,cause my vert dont have 4wd!! :lol:

_________________
GO FAST TURN LEFT!! IF YOU HAVE TO TURN RIGHT, YOU NEED A ROUND OF WEDGE!!!

here is my sig. karma if you look

Dattman wrote:
If you want big wheels buy a tractor...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 1:53 pm 
Offline
Jomo Herder

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 8:44 am
Posts: 267
Location: Unionville, Va
i'm sorry if i get blasted for not searching well enough, but is there a rough cost estimate? assuming that you have the same mk car, and if not? even if i should have searched more, i think that would be a helpfull part of this faq

_________________
Is it just me or does any1 else hate wind?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:53 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
you know, cost depends on how good a deal you find on your parts so how can we tell you what it'll cost?

your best bang for the buck is usually to find a rusted out donor car and buy the whole thing so you have all the parts. if you buy parts here and there and include shipping costs, you'll have a pretty penny in a swap.

i'd ball park the cost at $1200 to $1600 for a twincam conversion.

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:41 am
Posts: 69
Location: Europe,Lithuania,Vilnius
1.3L engine mounts - SOHC or DOHC mounts are the same. As long as they came off a G13B.

How about 1L engine mounts are they the same as 1.3DOHC?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 8:15 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
jozo wrote:
How about 1L engine mounts are they the same as 1.3DOHC?


no. the position of the 3 banger in the engine compartment is much different than it is for the 4 cylinder engine. you cannot use any of the g10 motor mounts in the swap except for the rear mount that attaches to the firewall. the mount on the rear of the power unit is different between the 3 and 4 cylinder applications and needs to be swapped along with both of the side mounts.

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:41 am
Posts: 69
Location: Europe,Lithuania,Vilnius
I have a GTI mk2 and i want to put this engine into my GS mk3 will i need all the wiring harness or only that comes from engine.
MK3 has electric windows and MK2 hasnt. Can i change only wiring that comes from engine withuot touching other wires?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:51 am 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
Technically, you can leave the MK3 harness on the inside, but it's a HUGE pain. A lot of splicing, and figuring out which wires do what.

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:41 am
Posts: 69
Location: Europe,Lithuania,Vilnius
Ok lets say i will get wiring from Mk3, will it fit to Mk2 engine?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:06 am 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
yep :) That would be the best route to go. MK3 GT wiring, and MK3 ECU.

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 11:41 am
Posts: 69
Location: Europe,Lithuania,Vilnius
can i leave Mk2 ECU? and are the dash plugs the same on MK2 and MK3?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:57 am 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
Never tested MK2 ECU on an MK3 harness. Not sure if the pinouts are the same, or if the plugs are even the same. I would sell the MK2 stuff, and buy mk3 stuff. Just to keep it all uniform. Nothing worse than turning your car into a frankenstein. Makes it nearly impossible to trace down problems.

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 4:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 4:09 am
Posts: 1
Location: Colombo
Hi guys. This is my first post here and I hope y'all will bear with me.

I recently came into possession of a non-running Swift with a 1.0 3-cylinder engine. The car was, I believe, one that was used in Japan. I then found a GTi engine and transmission combo from a Singaporean car that I bought, with a view to doing a transformation. However, it didn't have an ECU or harness so I had to get that down from a Canadian GTi. I believe that the engine and box are from a MK3 and the ECU/harness from a MK2. Is this an issue? Are the ECU and harness compatible with the engine? I apologize if these are basic questions but my technical knowledge is quite poor.

My uncle races an AWD Cultus GTi quite successfully here in Sri Lanka and I used a lot of his spares to complete the car. In fact, his race mechanic did all the work and the car is now on the road.

I got the axles/hubs from the Canadian car and am waiting for the rear brakes from that car to be sent soon. I get really bad fuel starvation when the tank is low so I'm sure the mechanic didn't install a GTi fuel pump. I don't know what clutch/flywheel he used and wonder if I have to get a GTi set.

It is still a work in progress but I want to know what else I need to complete the transformation from a POS into a clean-running car. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I'll try to post some pictures soon.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Seattle, WA
Does any of this apply to an Mk4 (1995) Swift. (currently has a 4cyl G13B SOHC) Is there an Mk4 DOHC motor that swaps in like this, or would I have to use something else, OBD change?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:27 pm 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
You'd definately have to bump back to an OBD-I setup. I'd suggest MK3 parts. They'll be the most compatible with your car. BUT, if I'm not mistaken, MK4 cars have the ECU on the passenger side of the car. So you'd have to figure out a way to re-locate the ECU, or extend the wiring harness.

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Seattle, WA
My car is a 1995, which is OBD1, correct? Made in 1994 as stamped in the door, but a 95' model. ( mk4 body style )


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 7:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
Mr. OriiIchii wrote:
My car is a 1995, which is OBD1, correct? Made in 1994 as stamped in the door, but a 95' model. ( mk4 body style )

Yeah, 1995 should still be OBD1.

_________________
1994 Metro - MPH project (getting a DOHC G13B)
1994 Metro - MPG project (getting an XFi G10)
1992 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1991 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1990 Swift - Parts car
1997 Metro - Parts car (gone)
1993 Metro - Parts car
1989 Swift GTi - Parts car
1998 Metro - Parts car


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 4:15 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Seattle, WA
GeoZukiGTi wrote:
BUT, if I'm not mistaken, MK4 cars have the ECU on the passenger side of the car.


Yes it is, mounted behind-ish the blove box. Soo the DOHC with its harness and ecu would work, just mount the ecu behind the Drivers side?

And lengthen one motor mount? the passenger side mount?

EDIT: yes a "blove box" is sorta like a glove box. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2006 8:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 2:56 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
I got a few questions.

1. Is this Fwd?
2. possible to do this on a 92 1.0L 3 cyl geo metro? im geussing yes...probly a newb question also)
3.should i just let the shop do this instead of me trying to learn on my own (mabe with some help from friends)
4. if i cant find a doner is drive axles called what exactly? cause im having a hard time finding "drive axles"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 5:32 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 2329
Location: Christchurch NZ, quake capital
I just thought I'd add my 2 cents worth :D since I am doing this swap at the moment, I'm using a 1998 Mk3 1.0 auto as my donor shell for my new race car.

As t3ragtop has mentioned, the motormounts are different, the transmission mount is quite well documented but the cambelt end mount isn't quite so well covered.

It only took me a few minutes to drill out the spot welds on the mounts.

The first photo is the 2 mounts, they look similar but in the 2nd photo you can see where the g10 mount was and where the G13 mount is going to go.

The last photo is the mount tack welded in place, I test fitted my G13b Dohc tonight and everything lines up, I'll weld the mount on properly in the weekend

Image

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 6:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
Dattman wrote:
the cambelt end mount isn't quite so well covered.

When I put a SOHC 1.3L into my 1.0L Metro, I didn't move the bracket on the body, I just used the mount from the 3-cyl on the 4-cyl block. It fits!

The aluminum one is from the 3-cyl:
Image

_________________
1994 Metro - MPH project (getting a DOHC G13B)
1994 Metro - MPG project (getting an XFi G10)
1992 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1991 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1990 Swift - Parts car
1997 Metro - Parts car (gone)
1993 Metro - Parts car
1989 Swift GTi - Parts car
1998 Metro - Parts car


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group