TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:16 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 3:02 pm 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 5:56 am
Posts: 2329
Location: Christchurch NZ, quake capital
OK, thats interesting, I got several rubber mounts and brackets from the wrecker, the bottom one in your photo didn't clear the cam cover on my Dohc engine, although the rubber mount looks as though it's angled differently, unfortunately I didn't try the 3 cyl alloy bracket, I got Jon (Nzswift) to go out with a torch late at night to measure where his bracket sits in his gti and realised they were in a different location.
It's amazing how many little details are different. :razz:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:07 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Medicine Hat AB
so do i have to move the mount or not? i am confused because i am going to start this soon since my 3cyl is pretty well dead and im pretty sure ive got everything else but the motor mounts dont make sense to me do i relocate them or not?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:51 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
here's a late update to this thread.

as dattman posted, there is a difference between the automatic chassis' right side mount and the twincam manual's right side mount. if the donor chassis was a manual, that mount should be in the right location.

as noted by Gasoline Fumes, there are several difference between the g10 motor mount and the g13b motor mount as shown in his pic. along with the differing cast materials, the length, bolt pattern, bushing, and bushing bolts' orientation are dissimilar.

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Another update
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
I don't know if this will help anyone or not, but I made a note of where the cam/timing belt side mount brackets are on the cars I have. My '94 Metro with the G10 and the automatic has the mount spot welded further back, like in the pic Dattman posted. Like I mentioned previously, I reused the aluminum mount from the auto G10 when I put a G13 in the car. The cast iron G13 mount wouldn't line up. I did slightly elongate the bolt holes in the G10 mount where the steel/rubber half bolts to the aluminum half, but it wasn't absolutely required. Now for the new information. A '90 and '91 G13 Swift with the 5-spd have the mount bracket more towards the front, again like in Dattman's pic. But the '93 Metro I just got (G10, 5-spd), also has the bracket in the forward position. So would it be safe to conclude that the difference in the mount bracket location comes from the transmission fitted and not the engine?

So going from a manual G10 to a manual G13 will use the G13 mount. And going from an auto G10 to a manual G13 will require using the G10 mount or moving the spot welded bracket forward.

But what about auto G10 to manual G10, or auto G13 to manual G13, or auto G13 to manual G10, or manual G13 to manual G10? Anybody know? I intentionally left out any combination that ends up an auto, who would do that? :lol:

And are there only two mounts and two mount bracket locations? Or is it more complex than that? I have two different cast iron manual G13 mounts, but I assume they are interchangable. I don't have an auto G13 to look at, so I have no idea how those mounts are.

If anything is unclear or wrong, let me know. With over 8000 members here, we can figure this out. :mrgreen:

_________________
1994 Metro - MPH project (getting a DOHC G13B)
1994 Metro - MPG project (getting an XFi G10)
1992 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1991 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1990 Swift - Parts car
1997 Metro - Parts car (gone)
1993 Metro - Parts car
1989 Swift GTi - Parts car
1998 Metro - Parts car


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 5
Location: england
hi i am currently in the middle of putting a gti engine into my 96 gls forest green swift. i tried lifting the engine in but the mounts do not line up. it looks like the mount needs to be moved as u just sed. are the two brakets different or can you use the 1.0l mount? do u have any mesurments on how far it needs to be moved? any info would help alot!!! cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
dazzer wrote:
hi i am currently in the middle of putting a gti engine into my 96 gls forest green swift. i tried lifting the engine in but the mounts do not line up. it looks like the mount needs to be moved as u just sed. are the two brakets different or can you use the 1.0l mount? do u have any mesurments on how far it needs to be moved? any info would help alot!!! cheers

Which mount? The mount on the gearbox side needs to be moved. But based on the cars I have here, the belt-side brackets should be in the same location on both the 1.0 and 1.3 manual cars. So once you move the gearbox mount, all three GTi mounts should work for you.

_________________
1994 Metro - MPH project (getting a DOHC G13B)
1994 Metro - MPG project (getting an XFi G10)
1992 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1991 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1990 Swift - Parts car
1997 Metro - Parts car (gone)
1993 Metro - Parts car
1989 Swift GTi - Parts car
1998 Metro - Parts car


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 9:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 9:05 pm
Posts: 448
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Here's my scenario;

I bought a 1991 manual 3cyl Turbo Sprint and a 92' (MK3?) 4cyl 1.3L DOHC complete with ECU, all wire harnesses, engine mounts, steering column. Am I going to need to modify anything? Are the fuel pump, tranny, clutch compatible or will I have to invest in all those as well? I'm super n00b right now and any help is good help.

_________________
Nick Manning

2006 Scion xB (fun-mobile)
1990/92 Suzuki Swift GTi TURBO (The GTiT)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:56 pm
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
I'm doing a swap now and I put my G10 engine mount on the g13k and I think I can make it work. Just need to grind a little off the mount for the timing belt to clear.


Attachments:
100_2449.jpg
100_2449.jpg [ 328.83 KIB | Viewed 3525 times ]
100_2447.jpg
100_2447.jpg [ 294.57 KIB | Viewed 3523 times ]
100_2446.jpg
100_2446.jpg [ 307.83 KIB | Viewed 3520 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:56 pm
Posts: 91
Location: Dallas, TX
Fixed :D


Attachments:
Timing belt 4.jpg
Timing belt 4.jpg [ 557.76 KIB | Viewed 3518 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:56 am 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
I'm pretty sure that the 1.3L bracket is offset a different amount than the 1.0 bracket. Not to mention it's made of iron, not aluminum... I'm 99.9% sure that's not going to bolt in.

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:45 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Millbrook, Alabama
Ok, so today i went to drop my G13b into my Metro and i ran into a problem. I bought a complete mount set from a member, it was for a 5speed GTi. For some reason the drivers side bracket doesn't line up with the mount at all. The other two are fine, but this one is messed up. If i were to attach both the mount and bracket to the tranny it would be 3-4 inches in front(towards the headlights) of the hole where the mount was supposed to go.

Pics below...

Any ideas?

Image
Image
Image
Image

_________________
Image
92 Metro Turbo-G13b Swap - too much stuff to list
95 Metro 4/5 Sedan - Daily Driver Status
2014 BRZ Limited in WRB - The car payment


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 11:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:45 pm
Posts: 674
Location: Millbrook, Alabama
Didn't realize that the attached blueprint was for exactly what i needed...lol

Now i have a GTi linkage, but it isn't matching up with my transmission, the bar on the tranny is horizontal, and the linkage is vertical. Any tips?

Kyle

_________________
Image
92 Metro Turbo-G13b Swap - too much stuff to list
95 Metro 4/5 Sedan - Daily Driver Status
2014 BRZ Limited in WRB - The car payment


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2011 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:16 am
Posts: 18
Location: hesperia ca
Hi first post (I can lurk and figure most things out got myself). I'm swaping a 92 g13b with trans/wiring harness and ecu complete, into a 94 1.0 liter chassis...thought I had everything but the pictures explain my dilema.
On the PERFECT chassis with A/C and PERFECT interior (well 18yo and used perfect)
Image
Image

On the engine harness already installed on the car and into the dash

Image
Image
Went to the Junk yard and there was NO rhyme or reason to these plug differences, years varied from 89 to 94 models There were converts(2) sedans(4) 3doors (7). 1.0liter Engines X 6, 1.3SOC x 5, G13b X 2 (already got the brakes...lol) A/C cars didnt make a differance or Manual vs Auto either.... MOst cars had the single plug variation. 4 had the 2 plug...of course I have the two plug chassis with a single plug engine wiring harness.

We got 7 of the 8 wires with the correct colors...dash works car turns over no power to the injectors and weak spark......fuel pump works with the relay tied directly to the battey


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:22 pm 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
I'm pretty sure the body harness is different between the 1.0 and 1.3. They are pretty different beasts. I've never done a successful swap without also swapping the body harness. It involves tearing the dash out unfortunately (HUGE pain).

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2011 11:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:16 am
Posts: 18
Location: hesperia ca
thanks
I have a 1.3 single cam body harness Without AC can I leave all the 1.o ac bits and harness and just overlay the 1.3 harness...or how hard is the a/c wiring to add to my non AC harness?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:17 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
and i never swap the chassis harness, i splice the plug i have onto the engine harness.

the only thing to watch for is that your chassis doesn't have the support wiring for the oil pressure idiot light, the tachometer feed, and the external ignitor for the twincam engine. i add those wires.

don't buy into that whole "it's easier to swap the chassis harness" thing, either. you'll have the car apart for a week jacking around with the wiring while a half day's work of soldering on a mating connector will have you running. :wink:

the wiring colors match for the most part, there's fewer than a dozen to deal with, and the twincam shop manual has a very easy to read electrical schematic.

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:16 am
Posts: 18
Location: hesperia ca
well 1/2 a day gone and some progress...lol
I have the books and can follow a line

What has me stopped is that when I turn on the key the fuel pump switches on (then off) and the coil primary is hot but the engine doesn't fire. one lead to the power center is hot(the external ignitor it looks like) and the chassis harness though a 1.0 has a tach....and a firewall lead that looks like a conector for an oil pressor switch (just needs to be extended)...

So what am I missing?

Feeling stupid in the high Desert..

Robi

PS many thanks for all the hints and points in the right direction on this project.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:56 am 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
the g10 may have a tach but the twincam engine harness doesn't have the extension of the brown wire from the ecu that feeds the signal to it. the g10 sends the tach signal from the negative side of the coil via the chassis wiring to the instrument. when you swap to the twincam, you circumvent that wiring and you have to add the wire from the twincam engine harness to the connector that feeds the cluster.

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:44 am
Posts: 436
Location: castlerock Wa,
image_id: 20913
these are the pin's for the idiot light and the tach signal.

_________________
If you ain't First your last - Ricky Bobby

1990 swift GL Twincam swap
Hyundai trans swap- in progress


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:14 am 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
and this is the wire that you have to add to the twincam's wiring at the ecu to run to the green connector.
Image

look in my album (button below) on page 17. the pics there have comments. hover over the pics there and you can read the secret clues to the swap wiring. :wink:

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:44 am
Posts: 436
Location: castlerock Wa,
t3 ragtop wrote:
look in my album (button below) on page 17. the pics there have comments. hover over the pics there and you can read the secret clues to the swap wiring.


Richard i was searching the forum and didnt find a wiring diagram just for the swap. I think it would be a help for people to see a diagram as well as your picture in your album. I was goin to make one and post it but i dont remember the color codes.

_________________
If you ain't First your last - Ricky Bobby

1990 swift GL Twincam swap
Hyundai trans swap- in progress


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:16 am
Posts: 18
Location: hesperia ca
OK update..
the starting problem was plugged injectors....DUH...yes from school you need compression spark AND FUEL!!! idiot...

tach works...with no assistance from me but "seems" to be running fast...
Car is running fine and we have even the AC working

I'm going to get flamed but the geo looks "dorky" when it is parked next to a Swift GT...
as this was a Geo swap now I have gon out and got a Swift hood....so I can get the drunkard avanti with square glasses look gone... picts up soon..should I post in the swap build?

or in the hi I'm new here....(own 4 geo/swifts..with enough parts to have 3 GT's and a single cam 1300....just 124K miles and one owner....

thanks for all the hints and help.
Still need to get the oil and tach but the car smogged, A/C is cold, stereo is loud and clear, and the twin cam is SINGING...all for 950 with tag title and insurance...(m labr is "free" lol) life is good!
Robi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2011 4:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:46 pm
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
what do you guys think if i make a required parts list on how to swap a g13b on a mk1?

_________________
suzuki forsa 1985 (SA310) with g13bb swap>>SOLD!
suzuki samurai 1989
webber 32/36
header with 2" pipe
2" lift in front
30" tires
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 1:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 148
Location: Canada, Alberta
I am in the middle of doing the swap to make my vert a GTI, I agree with all the things said here. I am trying to get the shifting link work out, along with some wiring issues as well, I have posted most of my stuff on the vert section, I am putting brand new CV's (stupid things came with ABS rings, my verts is pre-ABS era). My car is more now like MK1 now. I will put some pics up after I get the shifting link work out. Thanks to all of you for the information, I am using my vert transmission, I want to feel how it shifts with it, all the other parts are GTI.

The link below has the progress on my vert going GTI

viewtopic.php?f=36&t=48938

Cheers

Monte

_________________
Monte
Audi A4 Cabriolet 2.0 T 2008
Chevrolet Sprint CL 1991 Convertible 1.3 GTI
Honda Pilot EX 4WD 2006
Honda odyssey EX 2013


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:10 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
monte, the verts' 4.39:1 ratio is the whip! :wink:

say hello to 8000rpm shifts. don't poop yourself. =)

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group