TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:49 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 2:23 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Chicago, IL
Here's how they do it:
"also you need to convert the clutch to hydraulic using a toyota hiace van master cylinder mounted under the dash. "


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Tried searching that forum 8000 topics!

So they are using two master cylinders? One for the clutch one for the brakes??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 2:23 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Chicago, IL
Honestly I only know what I posted due to the fact I haven't attempted it yet. If you search for 4age or 4agze swap or hydraulic clutch you may find what you are looking for. I know the answer is there because I've read it. I haven't worked on my sammy in a long time due to a new project... Mazdaspeed Protege!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:59 am
Posts: 1047
Location: Canby, OR
IIDeaDEyEII wrote:
Tried searching that forum 8000 topics!

So they are using two master cylinders? One for the clutch one for the brakes??


Um, yeah. It is a smaller seperate cylinder. Lots of cars have them, 1.6 swifts came from the factory with them, would be an easy setup if you could find one. Otherwise, you would probably want to grab the bracketry and pedal assy from under the dash of the donor car.

BTW, don't use hose clamps on this kind of system. The pressure in the line is similar to that of a brake system, so you will have to use adapter fittings and such if necessary.

_________________
Anyone who's been around children will tell you that they are in fact quite stupid. Many of them cannot even read.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 8:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Haha I am aware of not using hose clamps. I have over 20ft of brake lines in all sizes, but I know what your talking about the little master cylinder for the clutch pedal. More work tonight, more pictures tomorrow or saturday.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 8:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Got both top side mount tacked into place and the front tranny mount tackek. I had to tilt the motor slightly foward to get the axle outputs from the tranny to line up perfectly. Engine is held in by itself now and I need to reinforce frame rails that I cut and motor mounts.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Got some work done yesterday, but I didn't take pictures. Reinfoced drivers fraim rail and reinforced (3)motor mounts. There is a rear tranny mount that I might not have room to put in without cutting firewall.(which I dont' want to do) so for now the three are very solid and the engine moves as it would in its origional car. Dash is off car and engine wiring from metro removed and also the ECU. The rest of the wiring stays intact(air bag modules removed)

I have come to the conclusion that I SHOULD be able to pull the fork with the cable clutch. I was able to do with with little leverage.
I still need to convert the sephia shifter linkage over for proper function.

Axles cut and measured. Sleaving tonight.

Pictures for tomorrow


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
V-Notched axles 6-8 times. plug welded holes. Bolted to car to see if they lock up.

Image

Image

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Got a clutch master cylinder from a 280z and drilled a hole through firewall. Welded bar on clutch pedal and threaded end bolts to clutch master cylinder. Still need to run brake line, but car is on the ground and all I need is a new T8D ecu because I fried it due forgetting to connect a ground. once I get that it should start, not sure how long it will drive for, but I am going to beat the crap out of it and if something breaks its going to happen in the first minute.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:34 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Costa Rica
any update?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Just got a used ECU from a friend this weekend. Hopefully this weekend I should know if she will start or not. Also if she does start, I will jack her up and soo what happens when she goes into gear.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Started car up last weekend. Only running on 2 cylinders(hardly running). I blew one of the coil packs when the ecu went, should be set-up to try again within the next 2 weeks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Rochester NH
I thought the motor they put in the sephias was the mazda built bp motor, the same motor used in the proteges, miatas, escort gt's, mx3s, all those and some other jap cars

_________________
http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fusea ... d=38221906
I would drive this Honda (engine) or put a GTi motor in it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Rochester NH
just a variation of this motor

Image

this was my other toy for about 2 years (it was free and I had less then 300 dollars into it with a good inspection)

_________________
http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fusea ... d=38221906
I would drive this Honda (engine) or put a GTi motor in it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2009 1:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
True for sephia's before 1998. This motor came out of a 1998 and is a kia motor, not the mazda one. Still don't have my new coil packs or injector yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
Swap is dead, another day another time. Had car running but never drove, I believe the axles would have held up. Ended up taking a sludgehammer to them to try to break the welds and couldn't budge them. Selling car to my buddy for $500 . . .no control arm frame rust or rot(he needs one anyways and I have 8 cars). Putting good engine/tranny in car from a 1994 xfi I had sitting in my front yard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 1:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 12:41 am
Posts: 1646
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Too bad. Good on ya for trying something like this though!

_________________
"daddy's car vroom vroom"
My garage.......http://www.teamswift.net/garage.php?mode=view_vehicle&CID=103
My personal gallery....http://teamswift.net/gallery/album.php?album_id=242
Currently driving a 1996 Geo Metro 1.0L
Mods coming...............


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 7:00 am
Posts: 1004
Location: Coquitlam, BC
What ended the swap?

_________________
CJDavE wrote:
" Only qwall is thinking about what's in my pants."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Massachusetts
I'll do something like this when I have the time to do it right. I have 8 car's right now and trying to get down to 3 by winter. By putting stock motor back in this one eliminates two cars. (i got a full 300zx vg30 with a bad body just sitting : ) waiting for me to do something with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group