TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:15 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 5:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:34 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Costa Rica
Hi guys, some day I was thinking with a friend in a "sleeper proyect", so we were thinking in the posibility to swap a g13b engine into a Suzuki Swift MK4 96-2001.

It is more complicated to do it than last model such as Geo from MK2 and MK3 (1989-1994) ?

are the mount the same or we have to improve o think in optional engine/gearbox mounts?

Greetings,

TB

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 9:56 pm
Posts: 1146
Location: Saint-Jérôme, Qc
bolt on fit, needs wiring mods for the GT ECU.

_________________
Suzuki Gold Master Tech
'07 Suzuki SX4 JLX AWD 2.0 | Turbine Tech turbo kit @ 7psi
'08 Suzuki SX4 Sport 2.0 , average baby carrier


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:45 am
Posts: 405
Location: Palmyra,VA
Yep, it's not bad. Plenty of us to help with questions when you do it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 5
Location: england
i am currently about to swap my g10 1.0 3cyl to a g13b 4cyl in my 1996 swift. i have the engine wiring and all the other parts needed apart from the engine mounts. i have the gti right hand mount and am under the impression the 3cyl left (alloy one) mount will fit. i think theese mounts are right but i need the rear mount. is the left mount ok? and im having problems finding anywhere that sells them. does anyone no where i can find them??
any help would be great


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 5:06 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
the g10 engine is located in the engine bay differently than the g13 and the axles are a different length. you need to find a junker mk4/5 1.3 sohc car and purloin the motor mounts and axles from it for your swap.

i'm pretty sure that the left mount for the 3 banger is too long for the g13 swap.

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 9:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:45 am
Posts: 405
Location: Palmyra,VA
Yes about the mounts. You'll definitely need the MK4/5 1.3 mounts, mount brackets, and axles if you have a 1.0 in you car. Grab the shift linkage from a 1.3, mainly the solid mounted arm from trans case to underbody. It's not the same angle do to engine/trans placement in the engine bay.

Mine was 3cyl 5 speed originally.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:34 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Costa Rica
Thank you all this is defenetely an excellent proyect!!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 5
Location: england
i have all the mounts for my swift and tried to lift the g13 in the other day. but with no luck ;-(. the mounts wouldnt line up. iv seen on another post that some of the left hand body brackets are in different positions and need to changed and re-welded. i want to check this is the case before i go and do it as i wasnt sure if this was what i needed to do. if it is the case will i need the 1.3 braket or will the 1.0 one fit? the swap is a g10 manual to a g13b manual. any help would be appreciated!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:34 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Costa Rica
A friend of mine executed the swap in to a mk4 geo..

Ill updating the topic with some snaps.. within some time...

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 5
Location: england
hi all my engine is finaly in but i have another question. my 96 gls forest green swift had an immobilsor on it orriganaly which is still there. with the immobilisor deactivated the engine will then turn over but it has no spark. before i deactivate the immobilisor there is 12v going to the coil but the engine will not then turn over. this voltage dissapears when the immobilisor is deactivated. does the immobilisor need to be programed to the new g13b ecu or removed? or do i have another fault? any1 got any ideas?? plz help cheers


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group