TeamSwift
http://www.teamswift.net/

Sprint to geo head interchange
http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=62135
Page 1 of 1

Author:  DaShlook [ Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Sprint to geo head interchange

Hello everyone, I'm no to the forum and not to sure if I'm posting this in the right spot. I'm trying to swap the head from a 1988 sprint into a 1992 metro block and I need to know if by swapping the cam gear from the 1992 head to the 1988 head will work. Or to use the head on the beer block do I also have to get a crankshaft gear from a 1988 sprint? Any help us greatly appreciated.

Author:  DTM GTi [ Sat Nov 19, 2016 3:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

It will not work . Completely different heads , not interchangeable

Author:  DaShlook [ Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

Well I already have the 1988 head bolted to the 1992 block, I know the pistons from the 1992 block won't work with the 1988 head. So what part of it won't interchange?

Author:  suprf1y [ Sat Nov 19, 2016 5:16 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

Either piston will work, but the later ones will give you lower compression with that head. Use whatever sprocket on the cam you need, they're interchangeable. The intake and exh manifolds do not interchange, but the head will bolt up fine to the block.

Author:  DaShlook [ Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

Thanks suprfly, so everyone knows I have installed the motor into a cub cadet garden tractor for competition pulling. Not sure how to upload photos or videos or I would to show everyone since we all like pictuers

Author:  DaShlook [ Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

I'm also interested in building up a motor and i was curious is 100 hp achievable without going to a turbo motor? The club I run in does not allow turbos but I can run alcohol. So any info on how large I can bore the engine or possibly stroke the crank would be greatly appreciated.

Author:  DTM GTi [ Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

As I said , they are not interchangeable . It can be bolted on G10 block no problem . If you don't mind switching to Mk1 Sprint intake and carb or sourcing parts of off Mk1 T3 and changing to Mk1 engine management them its possible. I guess with enough money and skill anything is possible . You didn't specify .........

Author:  suprf1y [ Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

100 hp isn't likely without a turbo. The early head is by far the better choice, though

Author:  DaShlook [ Sun Nov 20, 2016 2:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

I'm sorry I wasn't more specific about that, yes i have no problem with finding parts. I am currently running a custom intake and exhaust header on a 1996 engine I have switched back to carb andd vaccum distributor. There's a video of the tractor on YouTube. https://youtu.be/4bEB5gqBVpI

Author:  DaShlook [ Mon Nov 21, 2016 10:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Sprint to geo head interchange

Okay, so if 100 hp without a turbo isn't very achievable, would it be do able with say a 50hp shot of nitrous oxide?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/