TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:23 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: '96 metro in to samurai
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
hello all,
I've been working on swapping a '96 geo metro 1.3 engine into my suzuki samurai. Why you ask? lol well because 1. my original engine was toast 2. its the same block 3 i got it really really cheap and lastly EFI!!! lol

so anyways, I have the engine installed, the wiring harness modified and installed, and everything plumbed. After the swap, it fired right up and ran really really crappy. It would idle really rough and anytime you touched the gas pedal it fell on it's face and died. I messed around with it and got it to rev fairly well with a little bit of stumble around 1500 rpm, but it still idled really rough. I noticed when it was idling the Cat was cherry red hot, at first i thought it was a bad cat so i cut it off. then i found out it was hot because it was dumping raw fuel down the exhaust.

so now after testing a few things, and messing with a few other things it won't run for more than 3 seconds. It has spark with brand new plugs wires cap and rotor. everything necessary to run the engine is present, accounted for, and plugged in. One strange thing that is definitely holding me up in diagnosis is that i can't get my OBD2 scanner (OTC Genisys) to connect to the PCM, when i first put power to the geo harness i got the scanner to connect, but after i hooked the fuel pump and all the remaining sensors it wont connect. Yes the scanner port has hot, grounds, and signal from PCM wires in place

I'm needing some help getting this thing running right, I've tried asking on the suzuki forums but to no avail. if you would like to see/read the build up thread here is a link


http://www.zukikrawlers.com/showthread.php?t=43993

I forgot to add it won't try to run at all now, i pulled the fuel pressure regulator to check the diaphragm for tears or a weak spring, but check out good. and now im not getting any fuel period


thanks in advance
Andrew


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:17 pm
Posts: 1405
Location: Alberta, Canada
First thing I'd check is ensure map sensor signal hose is getting full manifold vacuum. Number one sensor controlling fuel mixture. If it has no vacuum it dumps fuel because it thinks throttle is wide open. Easy to check. Start with that. Coolant temp sensor can cause grief but not as likely in my experience.

_________________
1995 Swift w/16V 4.39s, 3tech cam, Esteem t-body, Header, needs more.
1995 Gt Mustang "Boss Shinoda" package.
1999 F150 4x4 Supercharged
1967 Mustang 428 auto, never ending expensive project
1993 Civic si h22a, fell in my lap, couldn't resist!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
Thank you that's what I was looking for, somewhere to start lol. When I go to lunch break I'll see what I can figure out.

Before I do that though I have to figure out why it's not getting any fuel period now. Not even to the hose that goes to the TB.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
The only thin I did between it dumping fuel and not getting fuel to the TB was take the fuel pressure regulator off and checking it. Now it's not getting fuel to the hose that feed the TB


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
Are there 2 different coolant temp sensors? I see one at the back of the engine by the thermostat, it's a three wire (I'm assuming that's what it is) but the schematic says there is a 2 wire one underneath the air cleaner and I am unable to find that one. I'm using the wiring schematic that's in the sticky thread in this forum subsection. The metro xfi schematic


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 880
Location: Vancouver, WA
Use the correct schematic for your engine. A faulty or even missing ect won't cause the fuel pump to not run. Start there. Find out why the fp won't run anymore.

_________________
98 swift 1.6 16v swap
03 cobra bolt ons
97 3000gt vr4 e85, high comp, bolt ons
too many others to list


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
I figured that out the fuel pump is running, I have fuel now..

And I'm using a schematic for a 1996 swift 4 cylinder. Did the 96 swift (non gt) have a 1.3 8v? If so it would have the same wiring correct?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 880
Location: Vancouver, WA
Zuki87jx wrote:
I'm using the wiring schematic that's in the sticky thread in this forum subsection. The metro xfi schematic



Zuki87jx wrote:
I figured that out the fuel pump is running, I have fuel now..

And I'm using a schematic for a 1996 swift 4 cylinder. Did the 96 swift (non gt) have a 1.3 8v? If so it would have the same wiring correct?



??

yes the 96 swift only had the 1.3 8v. no other engine.

_________________
98 swift 1.6 16v swap
03 cobra bolt ons
97 3000gt vr4 e85, high comp, bolt ons
too many others to list


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
This
http://metroxfi.com/2008/11/geo-metro-a ... -diagrams/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
Zuki87jx wrote:


That was posted in this sticky thread
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=50575

Sorry for the confusion


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
Ok I got it idling again, I can rev it if I feather the throttle, but other than that it falls on its face.

Map sensor has full vacuum from the intake. It has all sensors plugged up ie: TPS, ECT, EGR switches, tank pressure sensor and solenoid etc etc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 880
Location: Vancouver, WA
fuel pressure or misadjsuted/faulty TPS

_________________
98 swift 1.6 16v swap
03 cobra bolt ons
97 3000gt vr4 e85, high comp, bolt ons
too many others to list


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
Is there any way to test the TPS?

I'm sure if I could get my obd 2 scanner to work with my ECU it would tell me but it won't connect.

Besides the pos, neg, and signal wires what else does it need from the ECU to communicate?


Last edited by Zuki87jx on Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
At almost 200 bucks for the TPS I'm hoping that it's a fuel pressure issue LOL

Albeit, an new pump would run me just over 100 bucks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:09 pm
Posts: 238
Location: Brinkworth, UK
Have you changed the fuel return pipe? the Sammy pipe is too small and can shove the fuel pressure up way too high.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:09 pm
Posts: 238
Location: Brinkworth, UK
OBD2 ECU usually only needs power ground and ignition switch signal to communicate, some of these ECUs have several grounds and power feeds though so you need to make sure that they are all connected to get the entire ECU to power up. Have you got 12V on pin 7 of the diag connector? does the tool power up?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:13 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Lindale, tx
I did not think about the fuel return pipe being too small.

As far as the obd2 connector and not being able to connect to the PCM that ended up being a bad PCM. Found one in the pick and pull, swapped it out, and it runs like a champ and the obd2 port works as it should

Thanks for the help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Eunice NM
Hey Andrew.. :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group