TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 3:06 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 883
Location: Arizona
1987TurboSprint wrote:
Did you do a write up on that setup?? :drools:


I did post few pics when it was finished in my Mk1 GTi thread and I went back to check it . No pics . They are all gone so I guess I'll have to start going back and fixing that just as you did . It sucks . My whole album has maybe 30% of pics left .

I wish I have unlimited access to water jet guy . I just got lucky that I was doing it during worst part of recession when he was sitting on his hands . Now he probably wouldn't even talk to me .

Considering I'm putting only couple thousand miles a year on that car I don't think brake wear will ever be a concern in my life time :wink:

Brake discs themselves are just standard Willwood 11 3/4"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 1170
Location: So Cal, USA
For my future Vert Knuckle swap,
If I order the GT calipers, do they bolt on?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:31 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11669
Location: columbus, ohio
direct bolt on of the gt calipers with 2 conditions.

1) you need the caliper yokes for the gt brakes.

2) you need to trim 2.5 or 3 mm off the radius of the rotors to clear the calipers. (that depends on the od of the rotors, rotors can vary.)

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 1170
Location: So Cal, USA
OK, Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 1170
Location: So Cal, USA
From what I've been able to gather on info on the brake rotors,
I'm showing incompatable bolt circle.

I show sprint bolt circle at 4 x 102mm

and Geo Metro Vert bolt circle at 4 x 114.3mm

So I'm thinking the vert knuckle swap won't work with my rims.

When I get home,
I need to check and see if the knuckles I pulled off the vert
will fit the bolt holes on my Sprint wheels. Because right now
I'm a bit confused on the swap.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 883
Location: Arizona
That's a wrong info you got on a Sprint . All models of Swift in North America are 4 x 114.3 including Sprint , Metro , Firefly etc. I wish it was 4 x 100 then we would have unlimited rim and tire choices :?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 1170
Location: So Cal, USA
(edit)...
OK, I get it I guess that's rotor bolt mounting circle.

Not lug mounting circle.


Attachments:
boltpattern.jpg
boltpattern.jpg [ 89.53 KIB | Viewed 2535 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 2:46 pm
Posts: 883
Location: Arizona
That I wouldn't know . Got $.o9 a pound for them :lol: :lol: :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 7:42 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
suprf1y wrote:
I have heard that gasket can also be bought locally as an Altrom part.



Would you happen to have the Altrom part number or whatever part number is on the Dvorak no blow gasket?

I'm asking because there's an Altrom warehouse close by me which would make it real convenient for me to pick up the gasket.

( I'm finally getting motivated to start putting new head gaskets in the 7 or 8 MK1s I have with blown head gaskets because I've run out of room to easily stash any more Mk1s. I'm going to slap new gaskets in as fast and with as little effort as I can. Out of the 7 or 8 at least one of the gaskets I put in should hold without leaking. hopefully it will be the first one I put in.)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 9:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 1170
Location: So Cal, USA
If you're going to just 'slap them in'
then you should use the $10 Ebay graphite head gasket.

It's a fair amount of work to pull a head, there's usually
other items that need attention as well and undoubtedly
you snap a bolt, find a bad mount, hoses etc.

Take the time and do it right, especially if you're using
a $50 single use head gasket.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 6:33 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
JamalSpelling wrote:
If you're going to just 'slap them in'
then you should use the $10 Ebay graphite head gasket.

It's a fair amount of work to pull a head, there's usually
other items that need attention as well and undoubtedly
you snap a bolt, find a bad mount, hoses etc.

Take the time and do it right, especially if you're using
a $50 single use head gasket.



The day after I posted that I remembered I have two uninstalled used Mk1 turbo longblock engines. The sellers of the engines told me they came out of running cars so I'll slap these engines in as fast as I can with the least amount of effort and hopefully they'll work O.K. then I can take my time and replace the blown headgaskets on the removed engines properly. I'm thinking it'll take less time, money and effort to swap in a longblock than to replace a blown headgasket.

Thanks for the great pictures and info in your thread, looking at the engine dissassembly and removal pictures is what's getting me motivated to start the long overdo wrenching on my cars.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 8:19 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8033
Location: Ontario, Canada
I did a quick search.
This maybe it. You can look further

http://www.altrom.com/cgi-bin/altapp.sh ... :N&CD=6955

_________________
Contact 3tech: g10pro@rocketmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 12:15 pm 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
^ Thanks Suprfly. I searched " Dvorak no blow suzuki " on Ebay and the only Dvorak no blow that came up was the one for the four cylinder. I'll buy that Altrom one when the time comes. Are there any special markings or lack of markings or any other identifiers on the Altrom gasket that would identify it as a Dvorak no blow?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 12:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 1170
Location: So Cal, USA
http://www.ebay.com/itm/GEO-METRO-HIGH-PERFORMANCE-HEAD-GASKET-NO-BLOW-89-00-/270920776215?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3f1422fa17&vxp=mtr


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 5:50 pm 
Offline
@ssclown
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 687
Location: seattle
The Dvorak gasket is still available.

_________________
You can love your dog ..Just don't love your dog.!
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 12:52 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
JamalSpelling wrote:




Thanks for the link Jamal. I notice this gasket is described as geo metro high performance gasket 1989 to 00.

Is this gasket going to fit a Mark1, specifically a 1987 or 1988 turbo engine? And will it also fit an '86 to '88 Mark1 carburetted engine? I have 7 or 8 turbo and non turbo Mark1s with blown headgaskets.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 12:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 6:24 pm
Posts: 43
Location: renton, wa
Send dorvak a message through ebay. He has them in stock as i just ordered and recieved one a week ago. Very nicely packaged.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 1:28 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
^^^^Good idea, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 8:29 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
JamalSpelling wrote:

The only thing I don't like is that you have to overbore the cylinders,
I would have preferred just the next oversize on pistons.



I don't like the idea of boring out either. If that shop hadn't destroyed your original pistons that Suzuki put in the engine when they built it how much would it have cost to have the cylinders sleeved and reuse the original pistons? I seem to recall that TR2s and whatnot or some of those early English roadsters came with wetsleeved engines and when you rebuild them you hammer out the old sleeve and hammer in a new one and reuse the same pistons.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 10:46 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
JamalSpelling wrote:



I just ordered a gasket which is an Altrom gasket because the guy said it was the only one left in Vancouver. It was 33 bucks. Hopefully it will turn out to be that good Made in Japan Dvorak no blow gasket.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 11:43 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 1170
Location: So Cal, USA
Quote:
JamalSpelling wrote:

The only thing I don't like is that you have to overbore the cylinders,
I would have preferred just the next oversize on pistons.



I don't like the idea of boring out either. If that shop hadn't destroyed your original pistons that Suzuki put in the engine when they built it how much would it have cost to have the cylinders sleeved and reuse the original pistons? I seem to recall that TR2s and whatnot or some of those early English roadsters came with wetsleeved engines and when you rebuild them you hammer out the old sleeve and hammer in a new one and reuse the same pistons.



It would cost way more than a set of the Vitara pistons.

Actually, I'm fine with everything. It's just that sometimes when you can't get what you want,
or it's not what you want to hear, then you tend to get pissy about it.
The Vitara pistons are a good upgrade and give you a lower compression ratio
and relatively inexpensive. I'm very happy how things turned out.


Quote:
Hopefully it will turn out to be that good Made in Japan Dvorak no blow gasket.

He had them made to his specifications, there may be similar gaskets, but these are unique.
Though the last FelPro I put in, really wasn't much different. So when I talked to him
he said something about talking to FelPro and telling them why their gasket was failing
and how it should be built, so he went to a manufacturer and had a custom one made
that did not have the common faults of the earlier mainstream headgaskets.
It is possible that FelPro have now revised the headgaskets as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2013 12:07 pm 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
[ quote] He had them made to his specifications, there may be similar gaskets, but these are unique.
Though the last FelPro I put in, really wasn't much different. So when I talked to him
he said something about talking to FelPro and telling them why their gasket was failing
and how it should be built, so he went to a manufacturer and had a custom one made
that did not have the common faults of the earlier mainstream headgaskets.
It is possible that FelPro have now revised the headgaskets as well.[/quote]

( ^^^^ that is supposed to be highlighted as a quote but it screwed up.)


I just discovered it turns out that one Altrom gasket in Vancouver was non existent anyway. The guy placed the order online and the guy receiving the order phoned him back to tell him there is no gasket.

So I guess I'll be phoning Dvcorak to see if I can send him an M.O. to buy a gasket. Thanks for all the info about the Dviorak gasket, it sounds like its worth getting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:44 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
suprf1y wrote:
I did a quick search.
This maybe it. You can look further

http://www.altrom.com/cgi-bin/altapp.sh ... :N&CD=6955



Suprf1y, would you be able to confirm for me that Altrom part number BM740 is the Dvorak no blow headgasket? That is the Altrom part number on the invoice for the one I ordered. It turned out they didn't have it but I know a good parts guy who will search around and find one for me but before I go to the trouble of doing that I would like to confirm that Altrom part number BM740 is the Dvorak no blow.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 10:46 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11669
Location: columbus, ohio
it is not.

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2013 7:30 am 
Offline
@ssclown

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 7:58 am
Posts: 756
Location: not here
^^^Thanks for letting me know T3 ragtop. I guess I'll have to try that phone number for Dvorak and see about sending him a money order to get some of these gaskets. I've never bought anything off Ebay and I don't have any credit cards at the moment so talking to him directly is the only way I can think of to get a hold of some of these.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group