TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:21 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 8:17 pm 

I just bot this car, the deal was without hearing engine run.

Some Background: (using CODE in place of indent)

Code:
The car was garaged in 2000 with 3/4 tank of gas.  Then 3-5 years ago, it was driven and parked in the grass along the driveway.  Car has 121k on it.  Car was taken care of.  Body metal and paint is crazy nice and interior in pretty decent shape.  Dash and Headliner are excellent.

I'm new to the turbos and don't have a FSM (need to get one obviously).

The car has mouse nests just about everywhere you can think of.  And behind a tail light, they ate the insulation off a wire but did not break the copper wires.  Obviously, this could be quite a problem.

All the documentation including the window sticker was in the glove box and they all have varying degree of brown dried mouse urine all over them. So yes, I have an owner's manual which should show me where the fuse is, but I've been working 12 hours today clean mold and mouse shit and I'm running out of gas!

Some questions:

1) Does the pump run when Key ON?
2) Do I only need to check Fuse and Relay? Or are there other components in the circuit?
3) There are two relays on the RH shock tower. Which one is the Fuel Pump? Read something about a Pink Wire???

And if there are common failure modes or not (like relays rarely go bad), I could use that information.

Thanks in advance,
Tom

EDIT: I just looked up a pump @ RockAuto and they have a Delphi for $50. From what I've heard, they are one of the best quality wise. But looking at the pump, it doesn't look like an in-tank pump which I assumed. Need to look into this more....