TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:10 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 3:47 pm 

Gurus,

I'm sorry in advance for the length and noobyness displayed below.
This is my first post after lurking for a few days and doing searches on the things I could think of with various amounts of success. I'm new to this whole "world" as almost all of my previous cars have been any combination of the following: big, V8, RWD, American, street rods, 1960's, SUV's, Trucks, etc - so please bear with me. Almost all of my previous cars, well over 40, have also been GM in flavor. I picked this one up to help me get better gas mileage as my job is moving from 10 miles away to about 50.

Anyways,
I'm getting a 89 swift and a metro parts car tonight. It needs a little love and with a few small parts off the metro it should be good to go.

I have a few noob questions about cheap changes and/or upgrades and how they relate to MPG.

What kind of baseline HWY MPG should I expect form the 1.3L DOHC and 5-speed.

I'm not asking if a header wll help me do burnouts. I do want to have a little fun, but am after MPG for the most part. My imediate plans are to change the oil and install a NON-FRAM oversized oil filter, clean the MAF, new plugs, and new air filter. FWIW the odometer reads 99,xxx and the guy selling it has ZERO history on it since he only got it at an auction.

I read a thread about using a 3 liter Mitsu coil out of a dodge van, but the last post in the thread was a request for pics that never happened and is quite old. Are there any further upates on this cheap coil mod?