TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:09 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:51 pm 

I am a newbie to this list I own 10 89-94 Metros (5 in working condition), one 95 3 cyl Metro and one 98 Swift 4 cyl hatch. None are XFi models. All but two are 5-speeds. I have no interest in performance (I have a modified Turbo Legacy for that) I am partial to the 92-94 4-door "wagons". I am trying to turn a 94 5-speed wagon into a 60mpg car. By that, I mean 60 mpg at 70 mph with the AC on. My 93 base model 2-door gets 50mpg with no special effort and I am hoping that by doing the Somender Singh head grooves, raising compression, installing a milder cam, putting in the tallest final drive possible, increasing the diameter of the tires a bit, adding a front air dam and putting in streamlined headlights, I should be close to that goal.

My first question is simply "Am I nuts?" If so, in what ways?
My second is. Will the 5-speed from an 89-94 1.3 SOHC Suzuki Swift bolt right in? I hear it has the tallest final drive of the bunch. The clutch is different, but I'm hoping I can make it work. (I don't have this tranny)

If it won't fit, will the ring and pinion from that Swift fit in my Metro 5-speed? Could I perform that surgery with the transmission still bolted to the engine? Does anyone have a tranny like that for sale? Does anyone have the tall final drive gears for sale?

About the engine...I have rebuildable longblocks. What are the odds that one will accept new rings and bearings with just a light cylinder honing? What should I watch out for?