TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:08 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:04 pm 

Hey forum! New guy here. I'll intro myself real quick: my name's Shane, I live in Texas and I'm a diesel tech/bmw mechanic and a musician. Don't know how those go together but yea. I have some experience rebuilding a Honda 3rd gen prelude due to headgasket/timing belt failure. And some civic basics...
But no Suzuki experience. And despite it looking like a somewhat upside down civic/prelude Dohc I would appreciate your time/expertise in helping me solve an issue.

Here's the problem: I am looking into buying a geo metro lsi with an 89 swift g13b dohc swap in it. He's had the car for a while, and rebuilt the engine not too long ago. According to him it's been reliable, but he took it out the other day and was hitting the rev limiter like crazy in 1st and second and randomly the car just died and wouldn't start.
The timing belt isn't broken, but I've taken the valve cover off and I know there's holes on top of the cams for timing I assume like my Honda si has. But the cams look a couple teeth off. The belt isn't broken but does look like it scraped on something. Maybe jumped some teeth? Idk what all he did to it, I know he raised the rev limiter and bored out the intake and exhaust...may have cams. But either way I just looked through Google on my phone which sucks lol and a Hilton's and Haynes manual neither of which tells proper timing procedure for the dohc.