TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:15 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:37 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Antigua and Barbuda
Greetings to all. I am from Antigua and Barbuda in the Caribbean. A few months ago i bought a 1998 swift gti from a sole owner. It came with a under-drive pulley, walbro fuel pump and a K&N drop-in filter. Trouble is that it only revs to 6500rpm (no engine codes) . I believe the rev limiter is supposes to cut in at around 7500rpm. To try and fix the problem I bought a TomsII chip and had it installed just today. Took it for a drive and i only got to around 6800rpm. What could be causing it to limiting so early? I don't know how many degrees of advance it presently has, or if the fuel adjuster has been tampered with.(No O2 sensor on my car) Only other thing I've done to the car is installed a 2" press bend exhaust. Any suggestions as to whats causing this and How to fix it will be GREATLY appreciated. Looking forward to your replies.


Last edited by SuzukiMan365 on Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:46 pm
Posts: 805
Location: Great Falls ,Mt.
Are you sure that your tach is right on ?


Ken...........


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:37 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Antigua and Barbuda
Been wondering about that lately because once or twice i thought i saw it lag a bit... is it possible for the tach to lag/jump giving a false tach reading? Bad cable maybe? Or something else...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:18 am
Posts: 212
Location: Slovenia
in case that your tach is wrong..
if you have stock cams and stock ecu, limit should be around 7500-7600rpm, and you should feel power loss after going over 7000.. so, in your case 300-500rpm before end you should feel power loss..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:37 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Antigua and Barbuda
Can the tach be wrong? Has anyone ever seen this happen? Presently the car has stock cams and a TomsII chip but I only see 6800rpm reading on the tach when limiter hits. Got me stumped.... :?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:18 am
Posts: 212
Location: Slovenia
my tach show rev limit 8800 while on chip is 8550 fuel cut if i'm right.. but that's nothing compared to your difference..

did you try reving 2nd gear to the limit? it is going strong till the end and it's look like it wants to rev higher? or is there any power loss just before limit?

also does your "limit" look like regular rev limit? so like 6800 cut and 6750 open again? or it just dont want to climb higher?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 11:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 1133
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Have you checked if the ECU is throwing any codes?

_________________
MK2/3 PARTS FOR SALE - EVERYTHING MUST GO!
image_id: 22616
1993 Swift Gti


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:37 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Antigua and Barbuda
When I was using the stock chip there were no error codes (code 12 is normal right?) Now that im using the TomsII chip it sounds like its reving higher. Today i reved to the max in second gear (stock gearbox) and the speedo showed 115-120kmh when the limiter kicked in, but the tach only showed 6500rpm :? This cant be right....What speed should i be getting at 6500rpm? (14"wheels)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 6:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 1133
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
SuzukiMan365 wrote:
When I was using the stock chip there were no error codes (code 12 is normal right?) Now that im using the TomsII chip it sounds like its reving higher. Today i reved to the max in second gear (stock gearbox) and the speedo showed 115-120kmh when the limiter kicked in, but the tach only showed 6500rpm :? This cant be right....What speed should i be getting at 6500rpm? (14"wheels)

Yes, code 12 means everything is good indeed. The speed-rpm relation depends on what tires you are using actually. What size are they?

_________________
MK2/3 PARTS FOR SALE - EVERYTHING MUST GO!
image_id: 22616
1993 Swift Gti


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:37 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Antigua and Barbuda
Stock wheels Tires: 185/60/R14.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:15 pm
Posts: 1133
Location: Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
SuzukiMan365 wrote:
Stock wheels Tires: 185/60/R14.

With those tires your speed would be 90km/h at 6500 rpm. At 8600 rpm (I believe that's the rpm-limit of your chip) your speed would 120km/h. So yeah it appears to me that the fault is with the tachometer.

_________________
MK2/3 PARTS FOR SALE - EVERYTHING MUST GO!
image_id: 22616
1993 Swift Gti


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 8:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:37 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Antigua and Barbuda
I agree. So whats the next step? How do i fix the factory tach? Or will i need to install an aftermarket tach?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:18 am
Posts: 212
Location: Slovenia
get another dash/cluster :)

anyway, i don't get it how could you not see that you're reving it that high (even if the tach is not showing it right) from my stock 7500 to 8600 it's huge difference in sound and loss of power with stock cams..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 2:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 6:37 pm
Posts: 62
Location: Antigua and Barbuda
Since I had the ECU chipped (2 days now!) ive noticed a difference in sound(love the sound) and the loss of power just before the limiter kicks in. Thanks for all the input/suggestions. A new gauge cluster will be hard to track down in these parts....Aftermarket tach easier to get.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:18 am
Posts: 212
Location: Slovenia
then tear apart cluster and rewrite numbers on tach :twisted: :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group