TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:54 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 4:20 am 
What all would I need to do this conversion? I have located a G13B block and transmission (manual), but am wondering what else would be needed. FYI, it's a 93 Metro AT 1.0L 3 cyl of curb crushing terror (and also not running right now) with just under 90k miles on it. I intend to turbocharge the G13B if i can fit the block in the metro (kit from ssgti.com, possibly a stage 2). <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: hmm...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 8:34 pm 
so your going to put a manual in an automatic car? i think there is an extra harness or something like that because the automatic has a different somethingorother than the manual.<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :\ --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/ohwell.gif ALT=":\"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hmm...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 8:48 pm 
Well, I'm considering converting it to manual (heard it was better for performance while auto was better for comfort...screw comfort when I want performance). I was told that to do this conversion I would need a sh*tload of parts (besides the obvious parts, would need to figure out the wiring harness differences, replace engine mounts, cut then weld on the anti-sway bar mounts from the GTi frame, etc.). Just wondering how much work this will really be before I start. Also, would I be able to use the Metro ECU or would I need the GTi ECU? <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Engine swap
PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 9:46 pm 
Engine swaps are easier if you start with a whole parts car so you can see and take notes of were stuff goes. Make sure you have someone knowledgable to help you through it so you dont do anything foolish. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> good luck<br>George<br>91 T3VERT <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: ecu
PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2003 2:46 pm 
your going to need the gti..your ecu is configured for 3 cyl <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: 5spd vers, auto
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 2:42 pm 
I have a 1990 pontiac firefly 5spd 3cyl. My friend has a 1991 firefly 3cyl automatic. I can take off from red lights 10 times faster then he can. Just food for thought.<br><br>Regards, <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: man Vs. Auto
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:21 pm 
its not that hard to beat an automatic off the start<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :lol --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/laugh.gif ALT=":lol"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: man Vs. Auto
PostPosted: Mon Feb 24, 2003 8:49 pm 
Hi<br>I want to make the same conversion<br>1.3l at the place of a 1.0l<br>I'm sure i will not be the first to do this. Do you have or can you help me find info about the swap ?<br><br>I want to know if the transmission will fit with the engine<br><br>and the engine under the hood? special engine assembly needed ?<br><br><br>Info:<br>Donor car 1992 Geo Metro 4 door 4 cyl auto<br>My car 1992 Geo Metro 2 door 3cyl manual<br><br>Thanks <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: swap
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 8:36 am 
ssgti.com look under the Tuning section and it will tell you everything you need to know. but everything will fit <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: swap
PostPosted: Wed Feb 26, 2003 4:37 pm 
Thanks for the link<br><br>But i don't saw info about the 1.0 SOHC 6v for a 1.3 SOHC 8v swap<br><br>But they have great info about the 1.3 SOHC 8v for a 1.3 DOHC 16v.<br><br>I hope the change was similar, i will have to change de ECM too.<br><br><br>If someone have other great link please tell me<br>Thanks<br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: swap
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 8:59 am 
its the same exact swap. instead of 8v you got 6v it will fit<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :D --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/happy.gif ALT=":D"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: swap
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:14 pm 
Thank you I found only strange that one 4 cylinder motor does not take more space than one 3 cylinder under the hood.<br>So with the same transmission the engine will be closer to the wheel passenger side?. But now that I know it will fit, it is all that I wanted to know<br><br>thanks again <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2003 5:55 pm 
i am also thinking of converting my 1991 suzuki swift 1.0L to a 1.3 L with turbo. Anyone know of any sites to guide me through this, or does anyone here know how to do it? <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2003 6:21 pm 
Hi People :Add me to the list of swappers I have a 93 swift 1.0 Heavy on the 0 , I have looked all through here and can find lots on 4 cyl to 4cyl but little or none on the 3cyl to 4 swap ,lots of fine info but not exactly the same ,my donor is a 92 swift 4dr 1.3 L I saw running once owner wants 150 Cdn ,other than the motor what else has to be swapped, does the whole wiring harness need to be changed (in and out) or just parts , can I use the existing alt and starter or do I have to get them from the donor, I have been reading so much I can't sort it all out I saw excellent pics of offset tranny mounts Do I have to change out tranny also . I also read something about the CV's ,I have changed the front Knuckles from a 12 inch small stud rim to the 91 sprint turbo hubs with vented discs,and a larger stud for the 13 and up rims the CV's fit at the wheel end ,will they fit the 1.3 tranny ,. and the rad do I keep the original or use the donor ,I don't want to go turbo but a built 1.3 would be enough for me ! any and all help would be appreciated Ian I guess I wasn't alone !! <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 8:24 am 
Hey guys, <br>This swap is not to bad if you have a GT car. But if you have a Gt car there would be no reason for a swap. I had planned on a swap for my 92 metro but after researching it bought a GT car instead.<br>A 3cyl computer and harness will run an 8v motor and set up with almost no modification. The tranies will swap easy with the right drive shafts, and the motor mounts are close enough to work. I did this in a day and a half in my old car and the 1.3 8v screamed compared to the G10.<br>The G13b is a different story, EVERYTHING is different. Computer, harness (engine and underdash), cv shafts, (transmission end and wheel bearing end). So you need the complete drop out drive line and computer ass to make it work. <br>It is possible to use some of the 3cyl parts like the tranie but you must customize the cv's pain in the ass!<br><br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Thankyou
PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 1:52 pm 
Thankyou for that info .greatly apreciated , I take it when you say screamed you mean it was greatly improved ? Not reved too high ! Now where was that pic of that mount<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :rolleyes --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/eyes.gif ALT=":rolleyes"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br>Ian <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: man Vs. Auto
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 8:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 8:43 am
Posts: 1406
Location: Minnesota USA
Has anyone ever considered building a race manual valve body 3 speed auto tranny??? You would probably smoke that 5 speed down the quarter mile, plus there wouldn't be the syncro crunch sound when you shift it hard. Say something like a 4000 rpm stall converter???<br><br>Later,<br>Mike<br><!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :smokin --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smokin.gif ALT=":smokin"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: another swap.
PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:28 pm 
I have a 92 Geo and a 89 GTi (complete donor car)<br><br>My only concern is the where the engine harnest plugs into the car where the computer is located. The plugs are different style and they don't use the same color coding on the wires. Same goes for the harnest going to the relays near the battery. Different connector and not the same color wiring. Is there any info on which wires go to what? That's my only issue with my swap. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: another swap.
PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 3:34 pm 
Offline
The mad quebecer
The mad quebecer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 10:06 pm
Posts: 4569
Location: Chicoutimi, Québec
Connecting the relays near the battery is easy, the plugs near he ECU is another story tho.<br>The problem is that sprint-firefly wiring seem to be conceived by another bunch of crapy engineer wich asn't bothered to verify if his fellow collegue had the same plugs....or maybe it come from GM....go figure.<br><br>I did something similar lats summer, it was a NIGHTMARE!!<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :x --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/sick.gif ALT=":x"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>If you start cutting plugs, make sure you have wiring diagram from both cars or you'll DIE!!!<br><br>good luck <p>Jardamuth<br><br></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: another swap.
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 5:49 pm 
Ok so I switched out a 93 swift 1L and put in a 92 Geo Metro 1.3 .The tranny mount bracket dosen't line up by 2 inches offset,using the 1.3 mount bracket but is the correct length,, and the 1L mount bracket is 2 inches too long but the correct offset .!! what should I do ?? is there another type mount bracket on the 93 swift 1.3,shorter and not offset ?is there a mod !? a 92 swift gt (1.3) has the same brackets as the 92 Geo but the mount and shield on the frame seem to be moved ahead to the mount brackets location, any Ideas of tips please , axles are also different , 3 cyl has just 2 , the 4 cyl . has a mount to the rear of the motor and a 3 piece system , now I need to find that also , Electrical was the same and Plumbing was close !! and rads are different !!<br> Ian <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: another swap.
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
I'm having a similar problem with my 1.0 Metro auto to 1.3 8v Swift manual swap. But I don't even have the holes in the frame for the mounts. I plan to drill the mount holes and then drill holes on the other side with a larger bit. Then I should be able to pass a socket through the frame rail to put nuts on the ends of the bolts. But first I need to cut the auto mount off. What's different about the radiators? I haven't taken a really good look at mine, but I didn't notice anything when taking them out. <p>--------------------<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.geocities.com/gasolinefumes/index.html"><!--EZCODE BOLD START--><strong>My Website</strong><!--EZCODE BOLD END--></a><!--EZCODE LINK END--></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Mounts
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 8:04 pm 
Somewhere in here there is a link to a site, which excellently shows the whole procedure including the modified mount , I can't find it again !! <br> Some where here there is a link to a site in black and yellow which tells what you will require and that the rad for a 1.3 is a double cored rad , I never looked at 2 side by side ! Ian ( Engine hanging from the rafters !) <br> <br> If you drill too much will you not weaken the frame too much ! Why not drill straight through and add strength ,<br> I think too many holes is not good !I am making a mount using the 1.3 tranny bracket and using the original frame holes ! <br> And the shift linkage support rod is different at the mounting point on the block ,<br> And my swift just had the 2 axle shafts ,the motor I got needs the 3 piece system ! Ian <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :x --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/sick.gif ALT=":x"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounts
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2003 10:50 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
This site?<br><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://www.joeld.net/metrozone/metrogtinotes_em.html">www.joeld.net/metrozone/m...es_em.html</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--><br><br>I think both of my radiators are dual core. I guess my 1.0 liter Metro's radiator isn't original?<br>I need one of the two-piece axles too, my parts car has a broken axle.<br>I thought this would be easier since I had both cars sitting side-by-side, but I guess they had to make the bodies slightly different. <p>--------------------<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.geocities.com/gasolinefumes/index.html"><!--EZCODE BOLD START--><strong>My Website</strong><!--EZCODE BOLD END--></a><!--EZCODE LINK END--></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounts
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 7:40 pm 
Well that plan is scrapped , Yes those are the pics !Nice job finding them !Thanks ! I am going to get the head done and drop the 3 cyl back in . I found for 200.oo Canadian ,2 swifts, one 91 ,4 speed with the 1.3 motor siezed and no body left and a 93 1.3 auto with a cracked tranny, and very good body . between the two I will build one ,and have my 1.3 with lots of spare parts ,To look at the two 93 cars (mine and the other )from the out side they are the same except for the grills. both black but I will have a 3 and a 4 cyl , Now what about switching from auto to standard . Drive shafts for them are different # at crappy tire , and electrics ?? Later !! Ian <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mounts
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 1:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
I'm just swapping the harness that runs from the ECU to the engine. Pretty easy to do (at least it is with the dash out). Completely eliminates the tranny computer and wiring too. I think there's a plug or two that goes to the underhood fuse/relay box that needs to be changed. I'm not sure about the axles yet, but using everything from a manual car should work. The brake/clutch pedal assembly bolts right in too, but you need to drill the mounting holes for the clutch cable in the firewall. The holes are there, but don't go all the way through. I'm documenting this whole project on my site and I'll probably make a separate page just for the swap info. <p>--------------------<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.geocities.com/gasolinefumes/index.html"><!--EZCODE BOLD START--><strong>My Website</strong><!--EZCODE BOLD END--></a><!--EZCODE LINK END--></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group