TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 6:09 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 5:58 pm 
Offline
number one!

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 3:41 am
Posts: 664
Location: ...
I'm doing the same swap as you actually, 1.0 auto - 1.3 8v manual (doing this in a convertible though). I'm only a step or so behind you in this process, appreciate the effort of you documenting the whole process. Looking forward to updates on your site <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>~ Chris <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 9:16 am 
Offline
The mad quebecer
The mad quebecer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 10:06 pm
Posts: 4569
Location: Chicoutimi, Québec
Ok, basically all the swift-metro-sprint-firefly frames have the same mounting plate inside the frame, however the threads for the motor mounts from a 1.3 dohc or sohc are hiden behind a layer of sheet metal. No more bullshit about having a custum bracket, frame mods or other horror story, all you have to do is to pick a small hole saw and to remove a small chunk of sheet metal, that's it!<br><br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://ca.f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/bc/jardamuth/vwp?.dir=/Gt+Convertible&.src=ph&.dnm=Hole+Uncovered.jpg&.view=t&.done=http%3a//ca.f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/bc/jardamuth/lst%3f%26.dir=/Gt%2bConvertible%26.src=ph%26.view=t" target="top">See example</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--><br><br>However, depending of the year/ model, the holes that hold the motor mount cover to the frame might be missing from the mounting plate. The holes I'm talking about are those that surround the main tranny mount on the frame. On a turbo3 frame they are there, on my convertible they weren't, on a swiftg gs they are there and so on. I didn't bothered with those as I carefully bolted the main srew with the cover into place and then secured it with 3 self-drilling screw teks. <br>Once again, the cover's threads are not alway there but the main 10mm threads are there on any suzuki model car.<br><br>Good luck with your swaps and have fun! <p>Jardamuth<br><br></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 10:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
Good to know. I guess it's time to break out the sawzall and get the auto mount out of the way. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p>--------------------<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.geocities.com/gasolinefumes/index.html"><!--EZCODE BOLD START--><strong>My Website</strong><!--EZCODE BOLD END--></a><!--EZCODE LINK END--></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 10:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:21 am
Posts: 384
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Someone in this thread mentioned that when going from a 1.0l to a 1.3l SOHC 8v that you didn't need to swap the harness. I just want to validate the accuracy of this statement. I'm planning on doing this very swap and have seen information stating both sides of the field: Swap in 1.3 harness vs. Use 1.0 harness.

Can anyone confirm that they have done this swap without swapping the harness?

Thanks,
Bob

_________________
"We don't make mistakes here, we just have happy accidents... If you want sad things, watch the news. Everything is possible here. This is your little universe."
-Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 5:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
bobross wrote:
Someone in this thread mentioned that when going from a 1.0l to a 1.3l SOHC 8v that you didn't need to swap the harness. I just want to validate the accuracy of this statement. I'm planning on doing this very swap and have seen information stating both sides of the field: Swap in 1.3 harness vs. Use 1.0 harness.

Can anyone confirm that they have done this swap without swapping the harness?

Thanks,
Bob

I put a 1.3L SOHC 8V in place of the 1.0L in my '94 Metro. At first I was just going to use the 1.3L engine harness, but it wouldn't plug into the main harness without splicing in a different connector. It might have been because my Metro was an auto. Then the same thing happened with the dash harness. So I ended up using almost all of the wiring from the donor car. It was easier for me since I had it all right there and the car was gutted anyway.

But if you don't have the harnesses or don't want to pull the whole car apart, using the 1.0L wiring might make the most sense. If you're sticking with a similar age engine, the 1.3L ECU will plug into the 1.0L harness. 1989-91 and 1992-94 engines use different ECU plugs.

You will need to make a few changes to use the 1.0L harness. I think the ignition is set up a little different.

_________________
1994 Metro - MPH project (getting a DOHC G13B)
1994 Metro - MPG project (getting an XFi G10)
1992 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1991 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1990 Swift - Parts car
1997 Metro - Parts car (gone)
1993 Metro - Parts car
1989 Swift GTi - Parts car
1998 Metro - Parts car


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 8:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:21 am
Posts: 384
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Very, very cool. I've got both cars 92 vert and 94 sedan... Planning on swapping the engines so the 'vert has the 4cyl and the sedan has the 3cyl (need to bump up the torque a bit). If the harnesses between the two are largely interchangeable that will save me heaps and heaps of work. Thanks Gasoline Fumes... if anyone else can corraborate or has done this before, please let me know. Electrical is the most difficult part of mechanic work for me, so I want to gather as much info as possible.

Thanks,
Bob

_________________
"We don't make mistakes here, we just have happy accidents... If you want sad things, watch the news. Everything is possible here. This is your little universe."
-Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group