TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:01 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 11:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:43 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Athens
Don't know if this should be posted here, but here goes.

I have a 1.6 conversion on my samurai on the way (G16A). Because of some working on the head and different pistons (aprox 10.5/1 comp ratio) I am wondering how I could fool the ECU if needed.
There is no MAF sensor, so my understanding is the ECU uses the MAP sensor to calculate air/fuel volumes.(???)
If it turns out that the engine needs more air or more fuel how can I cope with that? (other than swapping the injector perhaps?)

Any suggestions?

thanks,

Stratis


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 11:18 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8033
Location: Ontario, Canada
With head work, and higher compression, it shouldn't matter, unless the headwork included a high performance cam with signifigant lift and or duration.

_________________
Contact 3tech: g10pro@rocketmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:43 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Athens
suprf1y wrote:
With head work, and higher compression, it shouldn't matter, unless the headwork included a high performance cam with signifigant lift and or duration.


Thanks for the answer suprf1y.
No the cam is stock. I want the engine to be able to work well throughout the range. Didn't want something that only works in low or high rpm. It's an everyday driver and offroad truck.

However, if It turns out that some tampering is needed, what do you think is the best way?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 2:22 am
Posts: 145
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Sry for the OT, but can someone tell me the difference between MAF and MAP...? :oops:

I searched a 'lil, but didn't find my answer...

_________________
Image
......................................................................Suzy.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:43 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Athens
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAP_sensor

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mass_flow_sensor

hope this helps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:14 pm
Posts: 796
Location: Reykjavik
You will in fact need to alter the fuelling and spark timing for optimum power. It may run fine otherwise but it won't make full power on factory map.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 4:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:43 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Athens
Baldurg,
can you elaborate on that?
To change timing I will need a programmable ecu (like Jacobs, MSD 6al-2 or the like) right?
As for fuelling, more fuel, less fuel...what do you think?
I do hope this will not mean visiting a dyno to check for best results...?!

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 1:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:14 pm
Posts: 796
Location: Reykjavik
You will need a programmable ECU or a chip for your existing ECU. For small changes, a piggyback unit will do the job. You may need to add or reduce fuel (factory maps are often too rich, the purpose is to keep the cat converter from overheating)
and add or reduce spark timing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 3:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 4:16 am
Posts: 8033
Location: Ontario, Canada
Like I said.
You shouldn't need to do anything, if all you did was increase your compression.

_________________
Contact 3tech: g10pro@rocketmail.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1.6 ECU question...
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:43 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Athens
Yes it's preety much just comp ratio.
Thank you for the answers. I will try to keep you posted on the results. (only problem is that I won't be able to compare to the stock engine, because I had the 1.3 engine before and finding a truck with the exact same gearing, tires and stock 1.6 is not easy...I could dyno it though?!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group