TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:49 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 12:57 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Berlin
Hi there

I've got a set of 4x40mm ITBs and want to run them on my Swift Gti (its a '89er ea, (in germany it's called "mk2 typ1")
what possibilities do exist to do so without the MAF sensor?

I've read here somewehre of changing over to MAP sensor, but I dunno what a MAP sensor is and where to mount?

Free Programmable ECU would be the only possibilitie to run the itbs openly without maf etc., right?
is megasquirt enough to do so?
it should be as cheap as possible...btw.

and what injector size and brand do you suggest in order to run 40mm quad-itbs?

thanxalot
Bösi outa Germany :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:22 am
Posts: 26
Location: ste-marcelline de kildare
megasquirt woork well on itb...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 1:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 7:17 pm
Posts: 3566
Location: Georgetown, Guyana
A MAP or manifold absolute pressure sensor is a small box that can typically be mounted on the firewall and connected to the intake manifold using a vacuum line - for independent throttle bodies you might want to use some sort of "quad-T" fitting to connect all four throttle bodies to it - it may or may not be necessary.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 318
Location: Prostejov
I am working on ITB with airbox and MAF together with stock ECU wich group A rally chip. It works. I have soo much power that I have slip on 3rd gear.

Lander

_________________
Suzuki Swift Kit Car


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: running ITB without MAF
PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:30 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Houston, TX
It has been a while since anyone posted on this thread and I wanted to find out what progress has been made on using individual throtle bodies with the stock ECU or an aftermarket ECU.
Thank You


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:23 am 
Offline
Bargain basement
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 6:44 am
Posts: 220
Location: Melbourne, Australia
splitsecond wrote:
It has been a while since anyone posted on this thread and I wanted to find out what progress has been made on using individual throtle bodies with the stock ECU or an aftermarket ECU.
Thank You


What do you want to know? Aftermarket ECU is fine for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: running ITBs without MAF
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:30 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Houston, TX
I wanted to know if anyone had successfully swapped the individual throtle bodies from the Suzuki GSXR1300 on the Swift GTi? If someone had done it I wanted to find out how it was done. If it had been attempted but they were not successful I wanted to know what was the stumbling block. Whether they used the stock ECU or an aftermarket unit???
Thanks
Jorge


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ITB!!!!
PostPosted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 12:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 9:17 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Tampa Fl
Yes it can be done but the best way for succes its go for progammable ecu GusGTi hes a member from australia he got this kind of setup ITB with Haltec E6X he is pretty fast 14.2 in the 1/4 mile.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2001 5:35 pm
Posts: 870
Location: SINGAPORE
check rospen's project.

http://members.iinet.net.au/~rospen/pro ... uadgti.asp

_________________
Lee, Singapore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:48 am
Posts: 284
Location: Brisbane, Australia
leeye wrote:


This has been done quite a while ago. I think Ross is busy with other projects currently.

But on the subject. If you are running stock ECU split sec units could be used to convert the MAP sensor reading into the MAF expected signal.

Alternatively if using the aftermarket ECU like Gus or myself TPS reading should be enough for a basic (non closed-loop) operation.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group