TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:35 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2001 9:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
Who else here has converted their GTi to run on carbs, and what setups did you use?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:49 pm 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
I have two weber dcoe 45mm carbs in my GTi. Do you have carbs in your GTI? what modes do you have?<br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2001 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
I have GSXR 1100 carbs. I have posted about them before. I had a little problem in the connection, they are held on by short sections of rubber hose. Next time I put them on I will make sure there are no leaks between the carbs an the manifold. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2002 6:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 11:03 pm
Posts: 214
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
DO eather of you guys have pictures of your set-ups?? Just wondering how hard it would be to make a carbbed manifold. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2002 8:14 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
Here are some pics of the engine....<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://public.cwpanama.net/~bdgracia/mygti/engine1.jpg"><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://public.cwpanama.net/~bdgracia/mygti/engine2.jpg"><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://public.cwpanama.net/~bdgracia/mygti/engine3.jpg"><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://public.cwpanama.net/~bdgracia/mygti/engine4.jpg"><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2002 12:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2001 11:41 am
Posts: 189
Location: Vancouver
bolivar, <br>you have some braided hoses close to your headers, are they for an oil cooler?<br><br>also the valve cover breather and pcv line is connected to a catchcan/filter? <br>how much oil is collected with that?<br>any problems with crankcase pressure?<br><br>could you detail what you did there?<br><br><br>thanks <br><br>Tom <p><P><A HREF="http://www3.telus.net/tc2468/">Tom's Webpage</A></P><P><A HREF="http://www3.bc.sympatico.ca/tc2468/swiftgti/ssgti90/ssgti90_pics.html"><IMG SRC="http://www3.bc.sympatico.ca/tc2468/small2.gif" BORDER=0 WIDTH=60 HEIGHT=45></A></P></BODY></HTML></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2002 9:32 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
Tom,<br><br>The Braided hoses are for the Mocal Oil cooler that is mounted on the front of the radiator. I soon will install a moroso accumulator 3qt to protect the engine in case of low oil pressure. I also will install a high pressure oil pump from RZM.<br><br>The catch can has a return line to the crankcase, so most of the exceeded oil is return to the system. The pressure is a lot wen you are constantly shifting at 7,500-8,000 rpm. I assume it will be more when my rospen cams arrive (+295 duration +10mm lift - 9,000RPM!!!!!) <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :D --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/happy.gif ALT=":D"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2002 4:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 11:03 pm
Posts: 214
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Bolivar, Thanks for the pictures. I love your engine bay. Did you make you own manifold or di you buy it? HOw hard was it to convert to carbs? I've been playing with some ideas in my head.<br>THX<br>Adam <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2002 1:19 pm 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
Thanks Adam.<br><br>The manifold was custom made here in Panama but TWM Induction sales an aluminium manifold for weber dcoe or similar.<br><br>To convert to carbs you will need the following:<br>- 2 weber DCOE Carbs or similar (Delorto, Mikuni, Solex, etc)<br>- Manifold for DCOE carbs<br>- Linkage kit for the carbs<br>- Change the fuel pump to a low pressure pump (for carbs). I'm using a Holley 7 PSI pump.<br>- Fuel pressure regulator. This is not mandatory but recommended. Fuel pressure should not be more than 4psi.<br><br>The standard ecu will work but since you will have the check engine light on all the time, the timing won't advanced properly, but still the engine will rev hard and strong to 8,000 rpm in first and second gear.<br><br>For the timing I'm using a Electromotive HPX, this gave me a huge improvement.<br><br>If you have more question let me know.<br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2002 7:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 11:03 pm
Posts: 214
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Bolivar,<br>do all the DCOE share a common mounting pattern or do they have seperate types pf flanges. What I mean is can I build a manifold and use any DCOE carb on it?<br><br>Also have you or anyone looked into using a SOHC 1.3 carbed distributer on the DOHC engine? I was thinking that if it could be made to fit if it doan't then you could have the mechanical advance for the lower revs and you could dial in the full advance. Without the mechanical advance you may be loosing low end Torque. I have a friend that has a 4.1l caddy motor in his Fiero and he modified his motor for carb and he made his own mech advance for the motor. He said he gained allot of low end with it. I was just wondering if this would work for the DOHC 1.3l<br>This way you could do without the ECU completely. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2002 7:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 11:03 pm
Posts: 214
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
mfvmx,<br>I would love to see your set-up or learn more about it. Why did you decide to use the GSXR carbs? I have a bike wrecker down the street form me and I could probably get them from there. How is your manifold set-up? How is your linkage made?<br>Thanks<br>Adam <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2002 10:52 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
That's correct, all DCOE have the same mounting, in fact if you want to stay with fuel injeccion TWM has some DCOE throutle bodies meaning they will fit in any DCOE manifold.<br><br>About the timing My fist plan was to use a distributer from a G13A engine with a msd timing computer (Very cheap) but I didn't find one so I basically when the best way available and that's the Electromotive HPX. Also I had a good deal. <br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2002 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
Someone a long time ago mention puting gsxr carbs on there car and I thought it would be a cheap alternative to buying new or used weber or mikuni carbs. Also motocycle carbs slip on so all you have to do is cut a stock manifold smooth it out some and connect the carbs using rubber hose (gas resistant).
Image


Last edited by mfvmx on Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2002 2:32 am 
Morgan, what kind of work you have done to get rid of the AFM? I just don't understand. From your pictures, it shows everything is stock except the bike carbs.. However, there are a lot of things attached to the stock intake. What did you do to the idle control and vaccum or stuffs like that on your carbs conversion project? <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2002 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
I just diconnected them because I do not need them to controll fuel delivery any more. Most of the vacuums lines on the intake go to sensors that are fo r the efi and the onyl thign you have to do is get a pcv valve filter since it was connected to the intake(not pictured). I also drilled and tapped a hole to allow for a fitting that connected the brake line vacuum. Ignition advance seemed to not be right although it does advance with enigine speed. It looks like I need to do somethign abotu that. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2002 10:39 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
You are correct, since you don't have the fuel injection the ECU is in alarm mode, meaning it won't advance the timing correctly. You need some type of ingnition advanced device. If you look at the pics of my setup early in this post you will see I ended up installing an electromotive HPX to advanced the timing. <br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2002 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
How much does something electromotive HPX cost, on e of the main reasons I went with carbs is to avoid expensive ECU's but I no just the ignition half is somewhat less than the full system. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2002 12:39 pm 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
My choise to go with carbs was the same. The electromitive HPX I think is around $700-800 USD but is the best you can find. <br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2002 9:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 11:03 pm
Posts: 214
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
Sorry guys, I've been super busy to reply here.<br>Thanks both of you for all the great info. <br><br>MFVMX can you email me, I want to get some details about your set-up. my email is bigbigbear@shaw.ca I'm thinking of doing this type of set-up on my next project. I'm working on my turbo right now and my next rig will have carbs.<br><br>Thanks<br>Adam <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:44 am 
What are the advantages of switching to a carb from fuel inj?<br>Why not just larger injectors. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2002 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
Injectors don't improve performance much, just inject slightly more fuel. Carbs increase the amount of air getting into the engine by removing the MAF which is very restrictive on the Swift. They are just a cheap altenative to programmable fuel injection. <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub83.ezboard.com/umfvmx.showPublicProfile?language=EN>mfvmx</A>  <IMG HEIGHT=10 WIDTH=10 SRC="http://www.geocities.com/morganf83/autox.jpg" BORDER=0> at: 2/25/02 2:31:26 pm<br></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
Why would you go to twin carbs when there are so many good quad throttle body set-ups available? I understand that the initial price may be high but would this not be offset by the lack of constant tuning required and also the driveability of the car even with big cams? Also, your fuel bill would be reduced over time. Not picking on the twin carb setups...I'm just curious.... <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 28, 2002 1:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
I have a quad carb setup not dual. A quad thottle body setup does not improve performace as much because you still have the restrictive MAF which can only be removed with and fully programable setup or can be increased in size in combination with a chip. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2002 1:51 pm 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
You will need a programable ECU +1K<br><br>Bolivar <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Carb Setups?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2002 4:27 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
Twin carbs that are dual-barrel....not just single barrel carbs... <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :o --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/embarassed.gif ALT=":o"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> ) And yes...getting rid altogether of the AFM and replacing it with a MAP sensor and programmeable computer is the best way to go...wish I could afford it...lol <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group