TeamSwift
http://www.teamswift.net/

Bike carbs on a g10
http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=46325
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Bike carbs on a g10

I am installing a g10 and 5 speed from a 92 Metro into a small chinese built dune buggy. I will be running one of suprflys heads, cams and whatever other go fast goodys he can come up with.

Ended up with 34mm Mikuni's from an Yamaha XS750
Image


I started out wanting 70HP but it seems more can be had. If some is good more is better!

Thanks in advance for your help
Duane

Author:  suprf1y [ Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

If you're gonna run 3 carbs, I'd err on the side of small.

Author:  cal swift [ Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Id run a motorcycle engine and a spool, with that power you wont need revese.........Scott

Author:  Mr.Pipe [ Sat Jan 02, 2010 8:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

If you run snowmobile carbs on a 4 stroke, you will need to convert from a primary style needle jet, to a bleed style needle jet, and tap the main air bleed to run an air jet. Without doing this, your fuel curve will be far from optimum. The Yamaha Vmax4 carbs are 33mm, and are already set-up with bleed style needle jets, so they would be a good place to start.
Darcy

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Thanks Darcy that's some good info.
BTW I am straight south of you, I work in Grand Forks.

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

cal swift wrote:
Id run a motorcycle engine and a spool, with that power you wont need revese.........Scott


Around here it's mostly riding trails, and I use reverse a lot now to get myself out of places I cant get threw. If it wern't for needing reverse I would have done a bike engine, would be a whole lot easier to do thats for sure.

Author:  Mr Murf 59 [ Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Hi guys, I am over here from the GMF. I am doing something similar, but using bike carbs. I am interested in how yours works. My parts are in the machine shop now getting balanced. I have one of 3Techs 222/365 cams. And plan on using a push/pull vacuum dist. Any info would be of great help. Murf

Author:  crazyman [ Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Khcchhkkttt. (ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain, the thread has been hijacked. please remain calm)

:D

Welcome to Teamswift, Mr Murf!

There is a dedicated carb subforum where you could post your own question/topic. Best bets would be start and search there. If you still want to know the OP's stuff, a PM is readily available.

Scott

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Well I bought a set of carbs for a Yamaha XS750 off of ebay for the hefty sum of $12.00!
I chose these because I also bought a Hooker header a week ago off of ebay also that fits a Yamaha XS750 for $40.00 and the port spacing was dead nuts on. So if the exhaust is the same I think it's safe to assume that the intake spacing will be the same. For the header I got a Chunk of 1/2"X3"X9" flat steel and made a plate for the ports and welded the header into it. For the intake I will get 1/2" inch flat aluminum and aluminum tube and TIG it to the plate.

Mr Murf, you feel free to jump into my threads anytime. Anything that will help any of us is a good thing. If you have something to share that will help me thats awesome, thats why I'm here I need all the help I can get.

Author:  Mr.Pipe [ Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Keep us informed as to the results....some photos would be nice too.

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Image
Image

This is the header and flange, somebody will probably complain because it is under the carb section, but the bore spacing is what got me to buy the Carb rack for a Yamaha XS750.

When I get the manifold made I will post up the pictures of that, hoping for this week but you know how that can go.

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Thu Jun 10, 2010 6:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Snowmobile carbs on a g10

Ok this is what I started with, and I am still not done but figured I would post up what I have so far.
Image

Pulled the engine and FNR box and set the Geo engine and trans in to size it up and to check the axles. Wasn't going to fit without some modifications!
The axles are stock to the 92 Geo Metro and fit the buggy hubs perfectly.
Image

I cut off the back tubes and built new ones. The motor mounts are Ford F150 trans mounts (Good eye West Coast)
Image
Image

Motor mounts are 1/4" plate and 1"x2" tube bolted to Ford transmission mounts (I work in a transmission shop)
Image

Image

Image

Engine and trans mounted up. I cut the top tubes off behind the seat leaving 3" I cut the back vertical bars flush with the horizontal tube then shortned them later, and added tubes with flanges so I can remove the fuel tank and frame work in one shot to work on the engine. I made my own intake and used 34mm Mikuni carbs, the ignition is a Ford Duraspark box hooked to the Geo distributor.
Image
ImageImage

Author:  wolfen914 [ Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

So did you get it running?

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

Yes, I have between 1500-2000 miles on it. Works great!


Author:  wolfen914 [ Fri Oct 08, 2010 9:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

Looks like a strong runner...congrats on your success! I am really interested in how the carbs worked out for you...I have a similar idea , and looking at the same set of carbs you are running. What is your impression, were they difficult to tune? Are they hard-starting, or have any weird quirks to them? Would you consider them reliable enough to be used on a street ride? Sorry for the twenty questions....Thanks!

Ed

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

wolfen914 wrote:
Looks like a strong runner...congrats on your success! I am really interested in how the carbs worked out for you...I have a similar idea , and looking at the same set of carbs you are running. What is your impression, were they difficult to tune? Are they hard-starting, or have any weird quirks to them? Would you consider them reliable enough to be used on a street ride? Sorry for the twenty questions....Thanks!

Ed

I havent tuned them! I just put them on, the only thing I did was to put new bowl gaskets in them before I put them on. I bought them off of ebay, cost me $12.00. It fires right up probably faster than an injected engine. My only complaint with them is they flood when I hit the bottom of a steep hill trying to climb. The MPG is great, cant think of any reason not to do it.

Author:  wolfen914 [ Sat Oct 09, 2010 6:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

Cool! I am definitely encouraged about this hearing (and seeing) your positive results. Thanks a million!

Author:  Ukraine Train [ Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

Great build! I came across your video the other day on Youtube. I'm in the middle of swapping a G10 into a Cub Cadet UTV. I'm using the CVT and transfer case from the UTV, though. Mine is a newer TBI so the sea of wires has made it a little more challenging but I got it started last night on the first try.

Author:  SA310 [ Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

How you have done cooling system?. Normaly coolant goes intake manifold.

thermostat is little broblem. How and where i put it, because it is attached to intake manifold. Coolant goes where to where?

Bad english....


EDIT: So lower radiator hose goes to waterpump. And upper goes to thermostat-> to intake manifold. Where should coolant go, when adding new intake manifold and bike carbs????????

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

I don't have any coolant passages in my home built intake, the plate blocks them off.
My thermostat housing is on the end of the head, post some pictures of what you have. That might help, me understand what you are trying to say.

Author:  SA310 [ Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

Ok. I take some pics

Oh i have few pics on my gallery. But you don't see thermostat housing...

Author:  SA310 [ Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

Long time no see :lol:

I have pic about that thermostat place and water passages.
Image

So if i do new intake manifold without those passages, there is no problems???
But how i build that thermostat. new manifold has not that thermostat, understand?

I think making same look manifold as you did, flange with no passages, straight pipes and bike carbs.

Only that thermostat is problem.

So what i have to do, to get coolant go another way(not intake manifold). Thats like CAI. Somebody talked something about putting tees in coolant hoses????

I can get thermostat from other car. does coolant go like this way... waterpump - block - intakemanifold - thermostat - radiator - back to pump???

Author:  christiancox [ Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

Minnesota_duane wrote:
Yes, I have between 1500-2000 miles on it. Works great!



Nice setup. But how did you wire the ignition ? Does it have a vacum advance or ecu controlled?

Author:  SA310 [ Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

SA310 wrote:
Long time no see :lol:

I have pic about that thermostat place and water passages.
Image

So if i do new intake manifold without those passages, there is no problems???
But how i build that thermostat. new manifold has not that thermostat, understand?

I think making same look manifold as you did, flange with no passages, straight pipes and bike carbs.

Only that thermostat is problem.

So what i have to do, to get coolant go another way(not intake manifold). Thats like CAI. Somebody talked something about putting tees in coolant hoses????

I can get thermostat from other car. does coolant go like this way... waterpump - block - intakemanifold - thermostat - radiator - back to pump???


Maybe i can make flange with those water passages, BUT their have own pipes to thermostat. So coolant doesn't go intake pipes anymore. Would it work?

Author:  Minnesota_duane [ Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Bike carbs on a g10

SA310 wrote:
Long time no see :lol:

I have pic about that thermostat place and water passages.
Image

So if i do new intake manifold without those passages, there is no problems???
But how i build that thermostat. new manifold has not that thermostat, understand?

I think making same look manifold as you did, flange with no passages, straight pipes and bike carbs.

Only that thermostat is problem.

So what i have to do, to get coolant go another way(not intake manifold). Thats like CAI. Somebody talked something about putting tees in coolant hoses????

I can get thermostat from other car. does coolant go like this way... waterpump - block - intakemanifold - thermostat - radiator - back to pump???

I cant help you, mines on the end of the head.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/