TeamSwift
http://www.teamswift.net/

how to setup the ignition on a mk2-3 swift with carbs ?
http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4995
Page 1 of 2

Author:  n1tr0 [ Wed Nov 26, 2003 12:11 am ]
Post subject:  how to setup the ignition on a mk2-3 swift with carbs ?

i've sat down & read through every post in this section, but there's really no clear answer on the best/simplest/cheapest way to take care of the ignition when converting from the fuel injection to a carb setup.
i realize some of these posts are pretty old, so there may be some updates ?
adam/bigbearzuke ? did you ever come up w/ any sort of conversion kits ?
the carb side is pretty basic;
bike carbs or dual webers/mikuni's...
intake manifold (something custom, or the original one hacked up, with boots)
low pressure fuel pump
fuel pressure regulator
...
for the ignition, or to eliminate the ecu ...
keep in mind that there are no mk1 gti's in north america to scoop a distributor from.
thanks guys :huh:

Author:  Murr [ Wed Nov 26, 2003 12:38 am ]
Post subject:  dis

hi kris

next time you are in new west talking with poruki, he will answer all your questions...
basically do what he does.
gm DIS sutff, chopper wheel, gm sensors his board... and some custom plugwires...

Author:  sikswift [ Wed Nov 26, 2003 2:14 am ]
Post subject:  hi kris

i have a quad carb set-up on my mk3 swift gt. give a shout on msn messenger or pm me on here and i can give you all the details you needs to fix the harness...

i ran into the same problem when i was installing the carb set-up in my car as well..

my e-mail address is cicam_99@hotmail.com. you can also email me and i will return your message

Author:  n1tr0 [ Wed Nov 26, 2003 2:44 am ]
Post subject: 

i emailed you, however it may be good to post your findings on here as well, i'm sure there's a few other people here in NA who might be interested .. you used the kit from jardamuth correct ?
oh ya, i have a mk3 as well =)

Author:  92GT [ Wed Nov 26, 2003 11:08 am ]
Post subject:  Timing

Here is one way to do timing with carbs.
You need an aftermarket ignition box with a magnetic sensor hookup. This will hook up to the two wires on the distributor. This alone will make the car run. Just not well and with no timing advance. To get advance timing. You need to get an electronic timing computer from the ignition company you got your box from. Set your timing advance map. Done.

Example: Mallory Promaster coil (29440), Mallory Hyfire IV or VI (697 or 685) These boxes have rev. limiters you may want. Mallory electronic advance computer (600-04)

Author:  bdgracia [ Wed Nov 26, 2003 11:44 am ]
Post subject: 

The car will run with the standard ecu but it won't advanced the timing.

The answer is to install and Electromotive HPX ignition.

Bolivar

Author:  Colin The Barbarian [ Wed Nov 26, 2003 11:48 am ]
Post subject: 

Or use mk1 distributor with mechanical and vacuum advancement fired by almost any ignition module... I think it's cheapest and easiest way...

Author:  miniswift [ Sun Jan 25, 2004 6:30 pm ]
Post subject: 

Ok ppl,

I read through most of these subject.
What I would likt to knoe is how do you set ignition timing.
Mk2 Gti is ECU controlled engine and using mk1, you can start engine without ECU and control timing.
What I want to know is, how do you know what ingition timing you are runing at.
If it was A/A+mini engine, there is a pulley with mark on it and with that you can set timing to suite.

With this mk1 Dizzy conversion, can we do that or I need to guess?

Author:  OzMidnight [ Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:02 am ]
Post subject:  .....

You could use a timing light.

Author:  miniswift [ Mon Jan 26, 2004 5:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

I have that and I know how to use it.
But what I'm asking is that is there any thing on fly wheel or pulley with line to say that's where TDC is all that?
Or do I need to use micro meter and use cam lift to find where TDC is and engrave line on the pully with indicator or something like that?
...... :? Did i just answer myself there?


What is the timing on standard cam engine anyay?

Cheers

Atchi

Author:  OzMidnight [ Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:14 am ]
Post subject:  .....

Try 6-8 degrees at base idle. Start with the dizzy fully retarded - clockwise as far as you can go whilst looking at the car from the gearbox side.

Author:  Caaarlo [ Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:47 am ]
Post subject: 

Lee, are you sure ? Ignition is fully retarded when the dizzy is turned fully counter-clockwise, looking from the gearbox side.

Author:  OzMidnight [ Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:36 pm ]
Post subject:  .....

That's my point. If he starts from there, then detonation will not be an immediate issue.

Author:  Swifty_Trials [ Wed Jul 14, 2004 6:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

Has anyone come up with a subsitute dizzy for the Mk 1?

Either a straight swap or minor / little modification to a dizzy

Swifty Trials

Author:  Bigbearzuke [ Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: how to setup the ignition on a mk2-3 swift with carbs ?

n1tr0 wrote:
adam/bigbearzuke ? did you ever come up w/ any sort of conversion kits ?


I have four or five vacuum advanced distributors in stock and I'm also working on a custom DIS system that dosn't need anything special. It's a very simple set-up which dosn't need any special magnetic wheels or special plugs. when it's done it can be installed in about a half hour and retains your stock plug wires. There is a working prototype in use right now. That's all I'm saying about the DIS until it's ready for sale

Author:  OzMidnight [ Mon Sep 20, 2004 7:13 am ]
Post subject:  .

I simply have a modified advance curve in my distributor that matches the rest of my mods....it seems to work very well. Easy starts, much more mid-range and no top-end detonation.

Author:  Lander [ Mon Oct 11, 2004 7:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: .

OzMidnight wrote:
I simply have a modified advance curve in my distributor that matches the rest of my mods....it seems to work very well. Easy starts, much more mid-range and no top-end detonation.


Please, can you post more details and pics? Very interesting in that mod when i will install R1 carbs on my engine.

Lander

Author:  OzMidnight [ Tue Oct 12, 2004 8:31 am ]
Post subject:  .....

The actual curve is matched to the needs of my engine, i.e. cam timing, fuel I use and intake setup. Once the setup is finally completely dyno'd (I've had a new addition to the family in the last few months) then I will be posting full details and results. Hope to do it before the end of the year.

Author:  Lander [ Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: .....

OzMidnight wrote:
The actual curve is matched to the needs of my engine, i.e. cam timing, fuel I use and intake setup. Once the setup is finally completely dyno'd (I've had a new addition to the family in the last few months) then I will be posting full details and results. Hope to do it before the end of the year.


OK, great. Sure let us know. I am starting to build race engine with carbs.

Author:  mfvmx [ Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:53 am ]
Post subject: 

Swifty_Trials\";p=\"69447 wrote:
Has anyone come up with a subsitute dizzy for the Mk 1?

Either a straight swap or minor / little modification to a dizzy

Swifty Trials

Yes the distributors out of the Mk2 Single cam Swift works, and is almost identical to the Mk1 Gti dizzy.

http://mikonos.globat.com/~teamswift.ne ... hp?t=10352

Image
Image

Author:  Jerzzey [ Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:34 pm ]
Post subject: 

wouldn't a 6A MSDbox and a vacuum advance distributor out of a 91 take care of that problem,totally eliminating the ECU when running carbs,basically going back to basic's.....would this be a correct statement or not.......

Author:  OzMidnight [ Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:44 am ]
Post subject:  .

Colin The Barbarian wrote:
Or use mk1 distributor with mechanical and vacuum advancement fired by almost any ignition module... I think it's cheapest and easiest way...


As he said...

Author:  mad max [ Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:53 pm ]
Post subject: 

you could also use a ford edis multi coil system with a megasquirt diy ecu to have 12x12 ingnition map... :twisted: http://www.msefi.com

Author:  OzMidnight [ Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:33 pm ]
Post subject:  .....

I guess it all depends on how much you really want to spend. Why not run bike TB's, MAP sensor and buy a full Link ECU for $1000Aus. Gives you everything you need then....just a thought.

Author:  Bugiiis [ Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Carb Setup

I'm told that a Geo Metro distributor will work. The unit is identical to the GTi unit but has vacuum advance and retard and only two wires. It may need to be re-curved for your engine to get maximum performance. There are some on eBay right now.

I'm going to try it with dual Webers but I'm a couple of months away from initial engine start.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/