TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:07 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 12:11 am 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
i've sat down & read through every post in this section, but there's really no clear answer on the best/simplest/cheapest way to take care of the ignition when converting from the fuel injection to a carb setup.
i realize some of these posts are pretty old, so there may be some updates ?
adam/bigbearzuke ? did you ever come up w/ any sort of conversion kits ?
the carb side is pretty basic;
bike carbs or dual webers/mikuni's...
intake manifold (something custom, or the original one hacked up, with boots)
low pressure fuel pump
fuel pressure regulator
...
for the ignition, or to eliminate the ecu ...
keep in mind that there are no mk1 gti's in north america to scoop a distributor from.
thanks guys :huh:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: dis
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 12:38 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2002 7:41 pm
Posts: 1697
Location: Armstrong British Columbia
hi kris

next time you are in new west talking with poruki, he will answer all your questions...
basically do what he does.
gm DIS sutff, chopper wheel, gm sensors his board... and some custom plugwires...

_________________
89' Swift GTi Road Race car - 130hp NA - Helical Torsion Diff, 4.71 final Gti guts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: hi kris
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 2:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 2:19 am
Posts: 61
Location: winnipeg,mb
i have a quad carb set-up on my mk3 swift gt. give a shout on msn messenger or pm me on here and i can give you all the details you needs to fix the harness...

i ran into the same problem when i was installing the carb set-up in my car as well..

my e-mail address is cicam_99@hotmail.com. you can also email me and i will return your message

_________________
Why are all the HONDA'S scared of me i'm only a 1.3L


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 2:44 am 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
i emailed you, however it may be good to post your findings on here as well, i'm sure there's a few other people here in NA who might be interested .. you used the kit from jardamuth correct ?
oh ya, i have a mk3 as well =)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Timing
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 11:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:00 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Atlanta, GA. USA
Here is one way to do timing with carbs.
You need an aftermarket ignition box with a magnetic sensor hookup. This will hook up to the two wires on the distributor. This alone will make the car run. Just not well and with no timing advance. To get advance timing. You need to get an electronic timing computer from the ignition company you got your box from. Set your timing advance map. Done.

Example: Mallory Promaster coil (29440), Mallory Hyfire IV or VI (697 or 685) These boxes have rev. limiters you may want. Mallory electronic advance computer (600-04)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 11:44 am 
Offline
Teamswift Racer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2001 3:46 pm
Posts: 560
Location: Panama
The car will run with the standard ecu but it won't advanced the timing.

The answer is to install and Electromotive HPX ignition.

Bolivar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 11:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 9:50 am
Posts: 545
Location: Cracow, Poland
Or use mk1 distributor with mechanical and vacuum advancement fired by almost any ignition module... I think it's cheapest and easiest way...

_________________
Mk3 GTi Saudi Arabia edition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 6:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Durham, UK
Ok ppl,

I read through most of these subject.
What I would likt to knoe is how do you set ignition timing.
Mk2 Gti is ECU controlled engine and using mk1, you can start engine without ECU and control timing.
What I want to know is, how do you know what ingition timing you are runing at.
If it was A/A+mini engine, there is a pulley with mark on it and with that you can set timing to suite.

With this mk1 Dizzy conversion, can we do that or I need to guess?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .....
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:02 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
You could use a timing light.

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 5:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 593
Location: Durham, UK
I have that and I know how to use it.
But what I'm asking is that is there any thing on fly wheel or pulley with line to say that's where TDC is all that?
Or do I need to use micro meter and use cam lift to find where TDC is and engrave line on the pully with indicator or something like that?
...... :? Did i just answer myself there?


What is the timing on standard cam engine anyay?

Cheers

Atchi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .....
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:14 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
Try 6-8 degrees at base idle. Start with the dizzy fully retarded - clockwise as far as you can go whilst looking at the car from the gearbox side.

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 11:47 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: San Juan, Argentina
Lee, are you sure ? Ignition is fully retarded when the dizzy is turned fully counter-clockwise, looking from the gearbox side.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .....
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 7:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
That's my point. If he starts from there, then detonation will not be an immediate issue.

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 6:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 5:58 pm
Posts: 21
Location: NW UK
Has anyone come up with a subsitute dizzy for the Mk 1?

Either a straight swap or minor / little modification to a dizzy

Swifty Trials


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2001 11:03 pm
Posts: 214
Location: Calgary, Alberta. Canada
n1tr0 wrote:
adam/bigbearzuke ? did you ever come up w/ any sort of conversion kits ?


I have four or five vacuum advanced distributors in stock and I'm also working on a custom DIS system that dosn't need anything special. It's a very simple set-up which dosn't need any special magnetic wheels or special plugs. when it's done it can be installed in about a half hour and retains your stock plug wires. There is a working prototype in use right now. That's all I'm saying about the DIS until it's ready for sale

_________________
Adam Willems
Image
http://www.occracing.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .
PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 7:13 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
I simply have a modified advance curve in my distributor that matches the rest of my mods....it seems to work very well. Easy starts, much more mid-range and no top-end detonation.

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: .
PostPosted: Mon Oct 11, 2004 7:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 318
Location: Prostejov
OzMidnight wrote:
I simply have a modified advance curve in my distributor that matches the rest of my mods....it seems to work very well. Easy starts, much more mid-range and no top-end detonation.


Please, can you post more details and pics? Very interesting in that mod when i will install R1 carbs on my engine.

Lander


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .....
PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 8:31 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
The actual curve is matched to the needs of my engine, i.e. cam timing, fuel I use and intake setup. Once the setup is finally completely dyno'd (I've had a new addition to the family in the last few months) then I will be posting full details and results. Hope to do it before the end of the year.

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: .....
PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 10:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 318
Location: Prostejov
OzMidnight wrote:
The actual curve is matched to the needs of my engine, i.e. cam timing, fuel I use and intake setup. Once the setup is finally completely dyno'd (I've had a new addition to the family in the last few months) then I will be posting full details and results. Hope to do it before the end of the year.


OK, great. Sure let us know. I am starting to build race engine with carbs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 11:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 9:12 pm
Posts: 132
Location: Virginia
Swifty_Trials\";p=\"69447 wrote:
Has anyone come up with a subsitute dizzy for the Mk 1?

Either a straight swap or minor / little modification to a dizzy

Swifty Trials

Yes the distributors out of the Mk2 Single cam Swift works, and is almost identical to the Mk1 Gti dizzy.

http://mikonos.globat.com/~teamswift.ne ... hp?t=10352

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:40 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New Jersey
wouldn't a 6A MSDbox and a vacuum advance distributor out of a 91 take care of that problem,totally eliminating the ECU when running carbs,basically going back to basic's.....would this be a correct statement or not.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:44 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
Colin The Barbarian wrote:
Or use mk1 distributor with mechanical and vacuum advancement fired by almost any ignition module... I think it's cheapest and easiest way...


As he said...

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2005 9:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:22 am
Posts: 26
Location: ste-marcelline de kildare
you could also use a ford edis multi coil system with a megasquirt diy ecu to have 12x12 ingnition map... :twisted: http://www.msefi.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: .....
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 5:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: Brisbane
I guess it all depends on how much you really want to spend. Why not run bike TB's, MAP sensor and buy a full Link ECU for $1000Aus. Gives you everything you need then....just a thought.

_________________
Don't ask me, I don't know anything. And just because I'm a senior member, it does not mean I have as many wrinkles as ellpee. 1500+ posts and still I haven't got a clue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Carb Setup
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2003 7:09 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Monterey CA
I'm told that a Geo Metro distributor will work. The unit is identical to the GTi unit but has vacuum advance and retard and only two wires. It may need to be re-curved for your engine to get maximum performance. There are some on eBay right now.

I'm going to try it with dual Webers but I'm a couple of months away from initial engine start.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group