TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:53 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: mk2 vs. mk3 ECU
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 7:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 3:49 pm
Posts: 488
Location: Lisbon Portugal
Is there any way to distinguing a mk2 from a mk3 ecu visualy?

Simply by looking?

_________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/557019
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ...
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:58 pm 
Offline
A legend in his own mind
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2002 3:06 am
Posts: 3344
Location: In T-Dot-getting >35mpg in a non GTi
yes.

F3 and F4 are, from my experience, MK2

I2, from my experience, MK3 and

I6, from my experience, from 1994 GTi

I'm talking about the yellow square sticker on the case

hope this helps,

TGstring

_________________
2017: I forgot if my memory loss is a good thing or bad thing.

LNLC Founding Member

Certified to advise if this thread is GAY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 5:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 12:27 am
Posts: 3051
Location: Aruba
I have an mk2 ecu with an F5 on it.

_________________
1991-GTi: JE 75mm 11:1 pistons,Ported head, Single UD pulley (OCC),Sandros chip,Aluminium flywheel,3tech 222/365 cams, Cultus headers,Cultus IM,50mm tb,Crane cams adjustable cam gears,Apex suspension, 4.39fd GB.
1989-GTi: 3Tech 210/340 Cams,Cultus IM, B&G springs, TD04L turbo, Apexi SAFC, Suzukird UD pulley, Circuitse7en dual boost controller, AEM wideband, AEM water / meth injection kit, HKS bov.
2001-Altezza AS200: Stock.-sold
2003-EVO7 GT-A
Aruba "one happy island".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 4:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:51 am
Posts: 63
Location: Singapore
what about "MT-FEB.."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 10:16 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
The most certain way to tell, is to open it, and read the number off the EPROM:
27C128 = MK2 (16K EPROM)
27C256 = MK3 (32K EPROM)

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanx guys
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 1:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 3:49 pm
Posts: 488
Location: Lisbon Portugal
thanx guys for the help...

I´ll see what the ecu has written on it, the seller doesn´t know if it came of a mk2 or mk3, he bought it from a scrapyard.

_________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/557019
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 6:41 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
It also doesn't really matter if an ECU is out of a MK2 or from a MK3. They're both interchangeable with MK2/MK3 vehicles. The only time it becomes an issue is when you want to change the EPROM chip.

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:03 pm 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
*hijak* I'm running an MK2 ECU in my vert, with an MK3 harness, spliced into the MK2 ECU harness. Been having a lot of running issues. So i'm assuming if I got an MK3 ECU and ecu harness, it'll run fine? Any programming difference between the MK2 and MK3 that would discourage/encourage use of an MK3?? :lol:

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:16 pm 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
the newer the ecu, the smoother and stronger the car 'feels' ..
eg, the mk2 ecu in my '92 made it 'feel' slow and even idled a bit different, the mk3 ran nice and smooth, the chipped mk3 was awesome, and the I6 from my '94 wasn't as nice as the chipped mk3, but better then stock.
these are all change in tone/idle/seat of the pants meter things, but ray/ssgt92 also did the mk2/mk3 shuffle while he was chipping his ecu and noted the same thing.
as for getting the vert running properly, i think you'd just be better having either a complete mk2 or a complete mk3 wiring harness and whatever ecu you use after that is gravy

_________________
'92 Swift GT, '94 Swift GT, '88 Turbo Sprint, '98 Swift ... all sold years ago


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 3:34 pm 
Offline
Mama Said Knock You Out!
Mama Said Knock You Out!
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 9:22 am
Posts: 5003
Location: MI
I have a complete GTi MK3 harness in the vert, but I used the Mk2 ECU, so I had to hack the ECU harness up to get it to plug into the MK3 harness's plugs. So i'll need a new one of those. Off to buy/sell/trade!! :) *woosh* Enough of my thread hijaking :)

_________________
TGstring wrote:
sooooo clean it's duuuuurrty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 3:45 pm 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
GeoZukiGTi wrote:
I have a complete GTi MK3 harness in the vert, but I used the Mk2 ECU, so I had to hack the ECU harness up to get it to plug into the MK3 harness's plugs. So i'll need a new one of those. Off to buy/sell/trade!! :) *woosh* Enough of my thread hijaking :)

???
the plugs for the ecu were exactly the same between mk2 & mk3 gt/gti's ? that's why they're so easy to swap back & forth ..

_________________
'92 Swift GT, '94 Swift GT, '88 Turbo Sprint, '98 Swift ... all sold years ago


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:08 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 2:27 pm
Posts: 763
Location: Toronto, Ontario
yea what are u talking about geozuke? u sure u have the right harness? I'm quite certain the mk2-3 harnesses are the same, only the ecu changes the mk2 is 128 bit and the mk3 is 256bit.

_________________
91 suzuki swift GT - UNDER PRESSURE Summer Sleeper.
04 Acura tsx - daily driver.

Turbo lag? huh? nah! just traction lag :censor: :furious:

psssshh! don't tell anyone :ez_evil:

BTW GTi = Great Tiny Import :P


Image, Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 4:56 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
I've swapped ECUs around between my MK2 & MK3, and never had any problems. The ECU and harness connectors are identical between MK2/MK3.

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mk2 vs. mk3 ECU
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
:bump: :lol:
Does the MK3 GT ECU have the serial data output for the ALDL plug under the dash?

_________________
1994 Metro - MPH project (getting a DOHC G13B)
1994 Metro - MPG project (getting an XFi G10)
1992 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1991 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1990 Swift - Parts car
1997 Metro - Parts car (gone)
1993 Metro - Parts car
1989 Swift GTi - Parts car
1998 Metro - Parts car


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mk2 vs. mk3 ECU
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:09 pm
Posts: 238
Location: Brinkworth, UK
I'd like to know which pin on the ECU the serial data link is connected to.

I have looked at the F5 and I2 ECUs, neither of them have the serial port on the processor connected for comms. Its possible that it is bit banged via the UPP but it seems unlikely, however it does seem that there are Swifts out there with an I2 and an ALDL connector.

I do know that the F5 has only one ignition table, the I2 has two. Both ECUs have two fuelling tables.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mk2 vs. mk3 ECU
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 2457
Location: New York State
Rhinoman wrote:
I'd like to know which pin on the ECU the serial data link is connected to.

Me too. The service manual doesn't label the pins in the main diagram. And the ALDL isn't included in the ECU wiring diagram. It should be a violet/white wire. My 1989 automatic GTi F4 ECU doesn't have the wire.

Suzuki was nice enough to give the serial data pin number (B13) for the 8-valve TBI engine in the same book. But that's no help since the plugs are completely different.

_________________
1994 Metro - MPH project (getting a DOHC G13B)
1994 Metro - MPG project (getting an XFi G10)
1992 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1991 Swift - Parts car (gone)
1990 Swift - Parts car
1997 Metro - Parts car (gone)
1993 Metro - Parts car
1989 Swift GTi - Parts car
1998 Metro - Parts car


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group