TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:40 am

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 3cyl. Tach !
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:32 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Montreal
Greetings to all, I just purchased a 94 Metro with the 1l 3cyl. engine. I was browsing though the forum looking for a thread talking about tachs for the 3cyl engines and didn't find any...
I went to the local auto store and they only carry tachs for 4-6-8 cylinder engines.
What are my options for a working tach in my car ? MK1/2 turbo cluster ?
Homemade tach ?

Thanks ! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:03 pm 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
a few threads on this
http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php? ... ght=3+tach
http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php? ... ght=3+tach
http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php? ... ght=3+tach

_________________
'92 Swift GT, '94 Swift GT, '88 Turbo Sprint, '98 Swift ... all sold years ago


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:09 pm 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
Hit up the :search: button , type in "3 cyl tach", and check Search for all terms. You'll get plenty of answers.

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:32 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Montreal
Thanks to all !
Cheers :thumbsup:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 4:15 pm
Posts: 3130
Location: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Just a question, didn't the 3cyl manuals come with one? (convertable i'm thinking of) the stock cluster i thought they had a rpm guage.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 3:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 4:58 pm
Posts: 639
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Not that I'm aware of....

_________________
'94 Suzuki Swift g10 3tech stuff:Port&Polish,225/355 cam,11:1 CR, SS valves,+10 Cam gear,underdrive; K&N intake; LTLSU's Custom racing springs with Monroe struts (2" lower front, 0.5" lower back); 185/55/R14 Kumho Ecsta SPT tires on Eagle 040 rims; Stripped out interior and removed AC system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 1:27 pm
Posts: 1033
Location: Kenosha, WI
All of the vert's that I have seen came with a tach because they were the LSI models. I believe it was available in the LSI coupe's too but the only coupe I have seen with a tach was in a junkyard and it was a 96 with a 3 cyl.

_________________
M3----"M" body "3" cylinders.
Now Turbo'd

"M3 like the BMW?"
"No, like the Gillette razor."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 5:49 pm 
Offline
a.k.a Bum head
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 3157
Location: London, ON
I have a 3-cyl dash out of a '91 2-door, but likely it wasn't stock with that car. Like was mentioned above, I've seen dashes with tachs in the convertible models as well.

Didn't we come to a conclusion that the tach isn't driven directly from the coil but instead by the ECU, making the 3/4 cylinder discussion unnecessary? If someone had a GTi nearby, I'd bring one of my 3-cyl dashes with me to check it out...


Chris

_________________
Good stuff for sale!

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=42901&start=0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:45 am
Posts: 163
Location: Toronto
CJDavE wrote:
the tach isn't driven directly from the coil but instead by the ECU

Chris


what if you car does not have a ECU ?
like ones with carbs ?

The FiSh :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 6:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:40 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New Jersey
there are a few dash clusters on sale right now on E-Bay,clusters have factory tachs built in,most of these guys say the wiring is all ready in the dash for it,just clip on and go,unless you buy an aftermarket tach,then you have to buy one that accomidates three cylinder engines....hope it helps...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:58 pm 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
CJDavE wrote:
I have a 3-cyl dash out of a '91 2-door, but likely it wasn't stock with that car. Like was mentioned above, I've seen dashes with tachs in the convertible models as well.

Didn't we come to a conclusion that the tach isn't driven directly from the coil but instead by the ECU, making the 3/4 cylinder discussion unnecessary? If someone had a GTi nearby, I'd bring one of my 3-cyl dashes with me to check it out...


Chris

i checked the wiring diagrams for the mk1's & mk2's and they're both T'd directly off the coil, same wire that feeds the ecu, so they are 3 or 4 cyl specific.
mk3's appear to be wired the same, so it may only be the later mk4/5 cars (95+) that are driven off the ecu or the people who posted that info initially didn't notice the 3/4 difference. i've got a good digital multimeter with a tach function so i can compare the real rpm's vs. the oem tachs now ...

_________________
'92 Swift GT, '94 Swift GT, '88 Turbo Sprint, '98 Swift ... all sold years ago


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 8:40 pm 
Offline
a.k.a Bum head
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 3157
Location: London, ON
n1tr0 wrote:
i checked the wiring diagrams for the mk1's & mk2's and they're both T'd directly off the coil, same wire that feeds the ecu, so they are 3 or 4 cyl specific.
mk3's appear to be wired the same, so it may only be the later mk4/5 cars (95+) that are driven off the ecu or the people who posted that info initially didn't notice the 3/4 difference. i've got a good digital multimeter with a tach function so i can compare the real rpm's vs. the oem tachs now ...


There we go... finally cleared up. :D

And I just realized that my multimeter does the same thing... I just haven't ever used it for that. (I'd have to divide by the number of cylinders, but it'll still work...)


Chris

_________________
Good stuff for sale!

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=42901&start=0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 9:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 7:07 pm
Posts: 274
Location: saskatoon
Instead of messing around with a aftermarket tack. I bought a 3cyl cluster with a tach for $60 off ebay. Removed mine plugged it in and everything works fine :D. Nice and easy the way I like it lol.

_________________
90 Sprint supercharger in a box waiting for warm weather.
85 Fiero GT solo racer custom interior.
81 Audi 4000


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2005 10:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 4:40 pm
Posts: 38
Location: New Jersey
thats exactly what I said,,,,theres a bunch of them on E-Bay right now,easy to do,plug in and go.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:01 am 
Offline
Former TeamSwift Admin
Former TeamSwift Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 9:58 am
Posts: 8146
Location: Seattle, WA
CJDavE wrote:
n1tr0 wrote:
i checked the wiring diagrams for the mk1's & mk2's and they're both T'd directly off the coil, same wire that feeds the ecu, so they are 3 or 4 cyl specific.
mk3's appear to be wired the same, so it may only be the later mk4/5 cars (95+) that are driven off the ecu or the people who posted that info initially didn't notice the 3/4 difference. i've got a good digital multimeter with a tach function so i can compare the real rpm's vs. the oem tachs now ...


There we go... finally cleared up. :D

And I just realized that my multimeter does the same thing... I just haven't ever used it for that. (I'd have to divide by the number of cylinders, but it'll still work...)


Chris

my multimeter has the inductive pickup, so it just reads off whichever spark plug lead you hook it up to .. # of cylinders not required

_________________
'92 Swift GT, '94 Swift GT, '88 Turbo Sprint, '98 Swift ... all sold years ago


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:31 pm 
Offline
Suzuki Elder
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 12:47 pm
Posts: 11675
Location: columbus, ohio
so, your folks did have that fancy multimeter packed away in their luggage when they came to visit! :lol:

you lucky guy :D

_________________
1991 Blue Geo Metro Convertible highly modified 1.0L Turbo3 5 spd. - 1991 Red Geo Metro Convertible customized with a Twincam 5 spd.

My Turbo3 Project
My Cardomain Page -Ol' Blue
My YouTube Channel
My Photo Gallery
SAAB Sonett II


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1257
Location: So. Calif
n1tr0 wrote:
my multimeter has the inductive pickup, so it just reads off whichever spark plug lead you hook it up to .. # of cylinders not required


Except for cars with waste spark ignition systems where the plugs fire on both the exhaust and combustion cycles. Or two strokes.

Any interest in a 're-cal'ing' service to convert a 4 cyl factory tach for 3 cyl use or vice versa?

dave

_________________
1992 Geo metro, 1.0L 5spd, 511,000miles on original engine & trans
- First time engine work at 456K miles, bad headgasket. Rebuilt head, Felpro gasket installed.
- knuckles/hubs/brakes/13" wheels from a 2000 Metro, running 175 70R13
- New bearings and 1st/2nd synchros at 440.5K miles.
- MPGuino
- Averaging ~ 51MPG these days


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 2:06 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
JellyBeanDriver wrote:
...Any interest in a 're-cal'ing' service to convert a 4 cyl factory tach for 3 cyl use or vice versa?

dave

Instead of tampering with the electronics, a tach could also be converted by changing the graphics on the instrument face. Here's a Photoshop mock-up of a MK2 GTi tach remapped for 3 cylinder operation. The bonus with this is the gauge has enough range to read to 11,000 RPM!
Image

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 2:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 4:58 pm
Posts: 639
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
Essentially, you could apply the same idea to any 4 cly tach....

_________________
'94 Suzuki Swift g10 3tech stuff:Port&Polish,225/355 cam,11:1 CR, SS valves,+10 Cam gear,underdrive; K&N intake; LTLSU's Custom racing springs with Monroe struts (2" lower front, 0.5" lower back); 185/55/R14 Kumho Ecsta SPT tires on Eagle 040 rims; Stripped out interior and removed AC system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:39 am 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
Zurech wrote:
Essentially, you could apply the same idea to any 4 cly tach....

...or aftermarket tachs for that matter. Although the way the mathematics work, it would start to get silly seeing 15000 - 20000 RPM tachs. :wink:

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:02 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1257
Location: So. Calif
Lihtan wrote:
Instead of tampering with the electronics, a tach could also be converted by changing the graphics on the instrument face. Here's a Photoshop mock-up of a MK2 GTi tach remapped for 3 cylinder operation. The bonus with this is the gauge has enough range to read to 11,000 RPM!


Cool but what would you print it on to make it actually look factory? At work we get professional labels done that are printed on lexan sheets that are then die cut. What would a home person use?
Dave

_________________
1992 Geo metro, 1.0L 5spd, 511,000miles on original engine & trans
- First time engine work at 456K miles, bad headgasket. Rebuilt head, Felpro gasket installed.
- knuckles/hubs/brakes/13" wheels from a 2000 Metro, running 175 70R13
- New bearings and 1st/2nd synchros at 440.5K miles.
- MPGuino
- Averaging ~ 51MPG these days


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 4:58 pm
Posts: 639
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
I would be able to get them done with vinyl.... not sure on a price though, but it wouldnt be too much. I would have a hard time seeing it be over 10 bucks US.

Do you know the actual dimensions that the sticker would have to be for the tach..... I'm a bit intersted, although I'd have to find one for myself still (4cyl consol). If you know the actual exact dimensions... or is the pic 1:1 ? Then I could get some stickers made, of any colour combonation, then people could try them out.

_________________
'94 Suzuki Swift g10 3tech stuff:Port&Polish,225/355 cam,11:1 CR, SS valves,+10 Cam gear,underdrive; K&N intake; LTLSU's Custom racing springs with Monroe struts (2" lower front, 0.5" lower back); 185/55/R14 Kumho Ecsta SPT tires on Eagle 040 rims; Stripped out interior and removed AC system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1257
Location: So. Calif
Zurech wrote:
I would be able to get them done with vinyl.... not sure on a price though, but it wouldnt be too much. I would have a hard time seeing it be over 10 bucks US.


Would it still be backlit for night time visibility? Or would it look off since you're now looking through the original face and the vinyl one stuck on top of it?

Dave

_________________
1992 Geo metro, 1.0L 5spd, 511,000miles on original engine & trans
- First time engine work at 456K miles, bad headgasket. Rebuilt head, Felpro gasket installed.
- knuckles/hubs/brakes/13" wheels from a 2000 Metro, running 175 70R13
- New bearings and 1st/2nd synchros at 440.5K miles.
- MPGuino
- Averaging ~ 51MPG these days


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:21 pm 
Offline
Moderator & FAQ King
Moderator & FAQ King
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 6:22 pm
Posts: 6460
Location: Vancouver, BC
It would replace the entire instrument face, so while the tach gets updated, you'd also be changing the speedo and any other gauges that are shared on the same panel.

_________________
jaguar,vettes&sprints wrote:
...can you inlighten me about lihtan's
( miracle pour hole)
maybe a picture Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 1:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 4:58 pm
Posts: 639
Location: Abbotsford, BC, Canada
I could still get a sticker to do that, if I have a scale design for it. I dont know the price, its about 5-7 USD per squar foot though. As for lighting.... well that would have to be tested. I dont know about any other way to do it except maybe have the backlights enhanced to be very very bright so they would show through....

_________________
'94 Suzuki Swift g10 3tech stuff:Port&Polish,225/355 cam,11:1 CR, SS valves,+10 Cam gear,underdrive; K&N intake; LTLSU's Custom racing springs with Monroe struts (2" lower front, 0.5" lower back); 185/55/R14 Kumho Ecsta SPT tires on Eagle 040 rims; Stripped out interior and removed AC system


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group