TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:08 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: turbo rebuild/upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:10 pm 

Hey guys,

just curious... but how much/hard would it be to rebuild the stock turbo on our cars? I wouldn't mind spending a day just tinkering around with it to learn. Also, while it's apart, is there any DIY improvements that could be made to the turbo? I'm a newbie at turbos, but I am mechanically inclined (that's the best way I can put it).

However, if I'm going to take it out, I was also wondering if there is an option to upgrade the turbo itself. Perhaps one from another car and bolt it right on? Or would any other turbo require custom fabrication?

all this would be on a stock engine. I'm not looking to put out huge amounts of boost, or anything that would borderline stress on the motor. I figure that if something is gonna come out, then I might as well do what I can to "improve" on it before it goes back in.

thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:18 pm 

Ok, here goes nothing :wink: :

A rebuild kit IS AVAILABLE from the Canadian IHI turbo distributor located in Vancouver. It is $183.71. If you buy 2, you get 10% off. The number is:

British Columbia, Canada
18940 94th Avenue
Surrey, BC, Canada V4N 4X5
Toll free: 800-663-6308
Telephone: (604) 888-3726
email: salesbc@adpdist.com

There also may be a dealer located in Ontario here:

Ontario, Canada
119 Spy Court
Markham, ON L3R 5H6
Toll Free: 800-601-7888
Telephone: (905) 264-0602
Facsimile: (905) 264-0626
email: saleson@adpdist.com