TeamSwift

Home of the Suzuki mini-compacts ! Your Home for all things Suzuki Swift, Geo Metro, Holden Barina, Chevy Sprint, Pontiac Firefly, and Suzuki Cultus. TeamSwift is a technical performance oriented community!
It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:50 pm

Underbody braces, turbos and more!

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2002 2:02 pm 
I am looking for an aftermarket tachometer that will work with my 3-cyl Metro. I would like on that I could mount on my dash and has a 3" face (maybe larger or smaller). I cannot seem to find them anywhere. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2002 3:34 pm 
Ooh Ooh Pick me. Pick me.<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> I have a Sunpro Tach that I got at Advance Auto Parts where I work. It is a 3 1/2" tach with a white face. It is compatible with 3,4,5,6,8 cylinder engines and even has an internal shift light. Check out my homepage at...<!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://hometown.aol.com/rallymetroxfi94/">hometown.aol.com/rallymetroxfi94/</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--><br>There is a semi-good pic of it in my interior. Oh yeah and the price on it was $99.99.<br><br>Chris <p>Why a Metro? Because the looks on peoples faces are priceless.</p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2002 2:52 am 
I've just stuck a GTI gauge set in my 3 cyl swift. A simple un-plug old, plug-in new job, but the tacho runs slow - not surprising I guess since it's expecting to see pulses from a 4 cyl engine.<br>Does anyone know of a wiring mod to make it read correctly? The manuals are a little lean on hard info for this type of thing. Any help would be much appreciated <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2002 1:37 pm 
A gauge set from a Metro Convertible has the right tach for a 3 cyl. engine. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2002 7:05 am 
And would you have one for sale to an old digger?<br><br>Thanks<br><br>Dunk - dunk@dunkworld.com <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: three cyl. tach
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2002 11:48 pm 
There is a gauge set on ebay right now with the tach in it for the 3 cyl. it was at 53 plus 15 shipping last time i checked and thats not bad i just paid 75 at the local junkyard today cause i didnt wnat to wait puting it in tommorrow oh yea<br><br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2002 1:19 pm 
don't know about a wiring mod, but I am putting a G13B in my 96 Metro. for now the gauge cluster from a 94 GT works great, don't notice any slowness in the operation of the tach though. - regards, Sean <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2002 2:46 am 
Well, the mechanics across the street ran it up and it was reading 2100 revs at an actual 2700, according to their diagnostic machine.<br>It's not a big problem but it would be nice to have it accurate<br><br>Dunk<br><br>dunk@dunkworld.com <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 11:16 am 
If you are a real tight wad (like me), try this. I do this on oil gauges with the dumb “L” and “H” marks and it will work for your tack too. You know the gauge is reading 3/4s times slower. Simply spray paint the face and use press on numbers and pin striping from an art store to redo the display. Interpolate where the new marks should be. With oil pumps you can use a bike pump or whatever with a gauge. Add 10lbs of air each time and mark off the dial face. When done, you have a nice looking gauge that is calibrated with real numbers or in your case, the correct rpm spacing. One advantage of using your gauge is there will be room for a higher rpm range. <br><br>Do note that you will be very luck to find press on numbers/letters that match at an art store. <br> <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: GTI Tachometer for 3-cyl
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 12:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2002 3:00 pm
Posts: 913
Location: Atlanta, GA. USA
Aftermarket tach is easy. If you buy a standard Autometer tach. You send it to them and they will calibrate it for you and send it back to you. But only the Autometer ones not Autogage. Yes, even the monster tach.<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :hat --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/pimp.gif ALT=":hat"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2002 7:54 pm 
Offline
banned
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2002 7:52 am
Posts: 1694
hey dunk world, there is an easier way to fix your 3cyl/4cyl reading tach problem, firstly, you get some 1300 axles, then a 1300 engine, then you drop it in and fire it up and your tach will work accurately!<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :p --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/tongue.gif ALT=":p"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 8:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:14 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Medicine Hat, AB
Found mine on neonedge.com. Works for 3,4, and 6cyl.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 9:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 11:56 pm
Posts: 415
Location: Topeka, Ks
NEW RECORD!!! A 4-year old thread bump!!

_________________
<b>THANK YOU Wagon, T3Ragtop, and Casey for getting us home.</b><p>
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 10:38 pm 
Offline
Teamswift Street Pharmacist
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 2:42 pm
Posts: 518
Location: Gatineau (near Ottawa)
can somebody shoot him?

_________________
I'M DRIVING A LADA NOW!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group